Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
210 Reviews
1234.852385
Previous | 1 2 3...20 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have served in many roles in AAUW. I am a second generation member brought to membership by my mother under the proviso that I would be a branch member for one year on her dime just to get to know the organization. To say I was reluctant is an understatement but I did it and by the end of the year I was a life member, asked to join the state board and my branch board and on my way to eventually serving on the national board. In between time I received a Community Action grant and was able with the assistance of many other members to put on the first Statewide Educational Roundtable on Shortchanging America - Shortchanging African American Girls followed by a similar local roundtable focused on Shortchanging Hispanic American Girls. The Shortchanging Research provided the impetus for both of these events. Every dollar that I give goes toward research, leadership development and bringing more equity to the women and girls of America and the world. I have always found that both my money and my volunteer efforts have been well used and respected. I have personally gained from the opportunities in leadership development as well as the feeling of empowerment as AAUW has positively changed the world for women and girls. Each role that I have had - member, volunteer, grant recipient, life long learner, leader and donor - is important to me but I count donor as the most important because it is through my donations that I feel I have the greatest long term impact. Thanks, Paula Jean Yukna

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to grow our on line presence and on campus.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

American Association of University Women has a mission of advocacy for women's and girls' right. I am especially involved in it's efforts to achieve pay equity for women.

I personally ran up against gender discrimination in pay, in my professional career, when I was employed as
department head of Food Service at a large church-owned retirement center. Salaries were supposed to be 'top secret'. But the CEO, with a slip of the tongue, revealed the salary of director of Housekeeping he had just hired. His starting salary was the same as my current one even though I had a record of 10 years there heading up FS. Adding insult to injury, he had no degree. I have a BS in Foods & Nutrition and am a Registered Dietitian. And the CEO did this in our weekly administrative meeting of all directors, so all my peers then knew too. This was so unfair, so degrading, I want to do all I can to make this kind of discrimination illegal so other women won't have to go through this. And AAUW is trying to achieve this legislation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think ;of any changes needed right now. It's a grand group of women to be associated with!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

AAUW is an outstanding organization that works both nationally and locally to advance equity for women and girls. As a member I have participated in many projects that have made a difference. AAUW is recognized nationally as a leading non partisan voice on women's issues. I have served in a variety of leadership roles at both the branch and state level and encourage other women to join AAUW to help make a difference. Even if you are not a member you can make your voice heard on issues that are important to women by signing up to receive AAUW's Action alerts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is effective now - I don't have any suggestions for change

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 22, 2012

A friend introduced me to AAUW by inviting me to a branch meeting. The women there were enthusiastic and intelligent, and the branch had interesting programs. Over the years I gradually became more a... more

September 27, 2013

A friend brought me to my first AAUW branch meeting. The women there were so committed to AAUW's mission and so interesting that I joined, although that had not been my intention. Since then I have been drawn further and further into the organization, serving on my branch and state board and on the national College/University Relations Committee. Working with students and introducing them to the issues that women face have become a passion with me. Empowering women and especially young women is so important for the future of this country. AAUW offers programs that are especially relevant for female students. The $tart $mart salary negotiation workshops teach them how to negotiate for the starting salary that they deserve, and Elect Her-Campus Women Win trains them to run for student office, thus opening the way for them to be politically active when they graduate. The annual National Convention for College Women Student Leaders provides networking opportunities, inspiration, and leadership and career-planning skills. These programs empower young women.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes are needed

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2012

A friend introduced me to AAUW by inviting me to a branch meeting. The women there were enthusiastic and intelligent, and the branch had interesting programs. Over the years I gradually became more and more involved in the organization, along the way learning how it advances its mission to promote equity and opportunity for all women and girls. Recently I've been working with AAUW's College/University program and the bright young women introduced to AAUW through their institution's partner membership. Through AAUW young women learn about issues that will face them once they graduate; they learn leadership skills; they learn to fight for justice in combating gender discrimination, how to negotiate for fair salaries and benefits, and how to run for elected office--all skills that will stand them in good stead in the future. Empowerment of young women is one of the crucial benefits of AAUW.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

AAUW tirelessly pursues the status of women in the country through education (4,000,000) of scholarships and grants annually, advocacy (40 volunteers on the Washington scene) research (currently focusing on Community College's role in educating women and the problems there's women face) and philanthropy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not many. It's doing so much right as it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 10, 2011

Great organization with important mission for all women and young girls. Needed more than ever. more

September 23, 2013

This is an important organization that promotes equality for women and young girls through advocacy, leadership, scholarship and research. It relates to all ages of women in a way that few organizations do. I am proud to be a part of the organization and have seen how its membership has grown in Portland, OR.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide additional financial support so the organization could expand it services to girls in middle and high schools since that is where a strong foundation is needed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 10, 2011

Great organization with important mission for all women and young girls. Needed more than ever.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

More in-tune with women rights and the needs of modern-day young girls and adults

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Look to the future

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I am so pleased to be involved with AAUW. I am currently volunteering my time to go into 6th grade classrooms and try to inspire kids ( especially girls) to pursue careers in the STEM field. I received a grant from my state ( MO) to do this program. We( 3 of us) dress up as important women who have contributed to the fields of Math or Science. I portray Rear Admiral Grace Hopper , Grandmother of Computers. I also have Dr. Barbara McClintock a Nobel Winning geneticist, Dr. Eugenia Clark, The shark Lady, and Miss Maria Mitchell.....1st American Astronomer. The evaluations that the 6th grade students are so totally inspiring..................we touch lives.....all volunteer work.
Cheers,
Pam

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing..................

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I have been volunteering with AAUW for 40 years. I have seen many wonderful results of the goals and objectives of the organization. Funding has been provided to women to further their education for many decades and AAUW has been considered the largest non-profit provider of funds for women in higher education. All of us "out in the field" are not paid for our time, and we are dedicated providers of funds for the projects, scholarships, and discrimination/harassment law suits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

AAUW has been empowering women since since 1881. I have been a proud member for 30 years and for each of those years, AAUW has made an impact on the lives of women and girls. The AAUW Legal Advocacy Fund, which has been a particular interest of mine, works to challenge sex discrimination in Higher Education and the Workplace through support of plaintiffs in court cases. Many of these women would not receive justice without support from AAUW. My life has been greatly enriched because of AAUW.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase publicity

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

AAUW provides support for women and girls through advocacy, education, research and philanthropy. I personally worked on a grant funded by AAUW to enhance science education for middle school girls. It was an amazing project that would not have happened without AAUW support

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more media attention and support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...20 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers