Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 5, 2014

I'm not only a volunteer but have also been a client served. I have worked with A Window Between Worlds for over 10 years and have never been more impressed with any other nonprofit organization. It is no doubt due to the talent commitment and efficiency that permeates this organization that they have grown to impact thousands of lives across our nation. Even now they continue to expand their mission and reach to serve a more diverse population, promoting healing and empowerment to our fellow citizens effected by violence. My affiliation with this organization is a great source of pride and purpose.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their reach globally.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

I began volunteering at AWBW in 2010 because of a small blurb i came across on the internet. From the first time i stepped into the office, the warm, positive and ambitious nature of the AWBW staff surrounded and inspired me. I was amazed by how such a small staff of less than a dozen individuals could affect the lives of tens of thousands of individuals dealing with domestic violence a year. I was able to be a integral part of the program as a volunteer, taking part in fundraising events, shelter leader training preparation and educational conferences. AWBW is like a second family to me and i talk about it to everyone i know because it truly deserves every bit of attention it receives. The impact AWBW has on the community only continues to grow as more and more people become involved in this amazing non-profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

AWBW has brought clarity to my life. It helped me to find my passion for helping women and children, it gave me the confidence I needed to be an artist, and it gave me a network of guardian angels (AWBW staff) that have inspired me to be the young woman I am today. Through my experience with AWBW I have learned the ins and outs of a non-profit organization, how to work effectively with a group of strong women (which usually ends badly, but not at AWBW !), how to use art as a healing tool in my everyday life, how to understand the healing process of survivors. But most importantly I have learned that doing what I am most passionate about is not only for me, but it’s for all of the lives that I touch on that journey, and that if I take the journey with AWBW I will never be walking alone. I continue to volunteer with AWBW because their mission is my mission. AWBW values their volunteers in a way that leaves a lasting impression on every volunteer’s heart. I spent three months working in the office and I didn’t want to leave. Actually, I still want to go back! I continue to volunteer with AWBW because there is no greater feeling in the world then being a part of another person’s healing process. Watching women heal, seeing the pain leave their eyes, watching the weight lift off of their hearts, hearing the new found clarity and confidence in their voices, that’s why I will be a lifelong AWBW volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

I became aware of A Window Between Worlds (AWBW) in 1993 when a friend told me she had become involved as a board member. It really pulled at my heart strings as I, as many women, had left an abusive relationship and understood the need that AWBW was fullfuling in the lives of women and their children. As an artist, I wanted to volunteer in any capacity that they would have me. I volunteered whenever there was an opportunity and all these years later I am on their staff. I've witnessed first hand the life-changing impact that this organization has on the lives of women and the empowerment that it gives them to make the changes necessary for a violence free life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I began volunteering with A Window Between Worlds in 2009. I am a survivor of domestic violence and sexual abuse. For ten years, I was trapped in my house, suffering from agoraphobia. I never went more than three miles from home, and went out only if a friend came and got me. My therapist suggested that I find a organization to volunteer with that I cared enough about to leave home and travel more than three miles. A Window Between Worlds was it for me. Not only were they helping women and children survivors through art (I use art in my own healing process,) but they provided a safe environment that I quickly came to trust. Each year I find myself volunteering more hours. I recently began volunteering during the week in addition to the volunteer day each month. I'm also signing on to help with AWBW special events. I went through a lot of research and visiting other volunteer groups before I found AWBW. It was worth everything I did to find them. I would like for AWBW to be honored as often and as much as possible. The work they do provides concrete help with an issue that affects the whole world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I was feeling depressed after the loss of my mother. Not yet ready to get back to work full-time, and not sure if I should implement a career change, what I did know is that I wanted to do something useful, something that I felt good about. I decided that I wanted to contribute to a cause that I believed in and one that had a positive impact on my community. I remembered a flyer that I had received about an organization that helped survivors of domestic violence through healing art projects. I thought it was super cool. I have always found art to be a healing force in my life. (It is now apparent to me that I became an art major in order to save myself, without even being conscious of it at the time)! So I filed the flyer away, thinking that I might like to get involved later on. In my state of desperation I looked for the flyer and found it and thought this may be the place--especially when I saw that it was located in my very city. Keeping it local also appealed to me. I checked out my spiritual centers non profit affiliations, and saw that they were also involved with a healing art program. This seemed like an omen to me, it solidified my decision. I knew for sure that this was where I need to concentrate my energies, efforts and love and see how it unfolds. I wrote a letter to Lonnie, the Volunteer coordinator at AWBW and she responded right away, and enthusiastically. Probably echoing my own enthusiasm. She asked when I would like to come in, we set up a time, and I have been forever grateful to her since. Everyone there made me feel so welcome, and they were so appreciative of everything that I did. I looked forward to going in the office. I saw first had the work they put into changing the lives of women and children who have suffered. It made me feel so good to be a part of the process. Even if it was just preparing art supplies -- sharpening pencils, or cutting strings for an art workshop. I loved being there so much that I think Audrey (the operating manager) must have noticed and asked me to help with a temporary position. Being there everyday, even if for a little while, solidified my feelings about how great the work they do is. Being there also had another side effect that I was not quite prepared for. My memories of my own abusive parents started to come up for me. I had certainly recognized in the past that I had an abusive family, particularly my step Father, but I don't think I ever dealt with all of my feelings around it -- at least not full on. Participating in one of the workshops while attending as a volunteer, I had a very powerful and moving experience, painful, but very cathartic. It made me think that perhaps I should join AWBW's, monthly healing art group -- Survivors Art Circle. It has taken a while for me to admit my past publicly, but and it has genuinely helped me further along on my personal journey of healing. And now I really see how it impacts the lives of so many, like myself. AND I also can vouch for how beautifully executed and heartfelt everything AWBW takes on turns out. I am honored to be a volunteer for AWBW, and I would encourage anyone looking for a great organization to get involved with to do the same. Lisa Pearson

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

A Window Between Worlds has made such a big impact on me, in so many ways. As a survivor of multiple traumas back to back to back, I would have never thought that I could emotionally or mentally be so strong. They have empowered me to accept what I have been through and move forward instead of looking back. I am in NO way an artist, but creating has been an integral part of my growth. I am a SAC (Survivor's Art Circle) member, and began volunteering because I wanted to give back to such a special place, and hopefully help others that are too afraid to speak up. I was one of those people, and now you cannot keep me quiet! I attribute that to AWBW. I have never in my life even liked myself, let alone love myself...and now I can happily say with strength that I LOVE myself. I also know that I will NEVER EVER be abused sexually, emotionally, mentally, financially, or physically again! Before I used to say it, and still be the victim of all kinds of abuse. NOW, I can truly from my heart say...IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Working with A Window Between Worlds has been an amazing experience. I have worked with the organization on a few different dates and done a variety of activities, but each experience has been wonderful. I started volunteering through my high school to fulfill a community service requirement. On my first volunteer day, i helped organize and assemble supplies for the many art workshops in domestic violence shelters this organization sponsors. I had so much fun and was truly enlightened by the work done by A Window Between Worlds. This summer, I am coming a few days a week to continue my volunteer work. I have always had a passion for art, and now I am considering a career in art therapy because of my work with AWBW. The staff members here are very welcoming and clearly passionate about the work that they do, and it is a pleasure to be part of such a great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I worked with AWBW last summer and I have come back to work with them this summer because this place makes a difference and touches the lives of many of the people that they work with. The staff here are so full of love for one another as well as the leaders and families at the shelters who work with AWBW. I have been lucky enough to be able to attend a training where leaders from all over come to learn what AWBW is all about and how to incorporate art into their methods of therapy as a form of creative expression. The "window of time" that these workshops allow women, children and even men is an important part of the healing process and opens up an opportunity for a form of expression that many write off an insignificant. Here at AWBW, they prove that art can have a major impact on the victims of domestic violence and help them start to move toward a brighter future. I love working here and hope to continue helping any way that I can, because AWBW not only empowers the people that they work with but they give volunteers a sense of agency.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers