Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I have been providing volunteer technical support to A Spring of Hope(ASoH) for the past two years. Professionally I am a water resources and sustainable development expert and have worked with non-profit organizations around the world that are supported by USAID and other large donors. When I met the Executive Director, Joanne and her daughter Brittany and learned of the great work they were doing in South African schools I was moved to help them as a volunteer. Without the benefit of any government or large organization funding they had already changed the lives of thousands of children and their families by giving them the gift of clean water for drinking and the ability to irrigate gardens for food. The assistance they provide is targeted to schools which is a ready made institutional infrastructure for providing not only water but training to their student on hygiene, sanitation, environmental protection, and improved irrigation methods. My goal has been to help them grow their organization and fundraising approach and to provide them technical advise on sustainable water programs so that a A Spring of Hope is itself a sustainable NGO. The wonderful work they have done so far is a drop in the bucket to the need that is there. I encourage others to help support ASoH so that they in turn can use their proven approach to help so many more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them grow in order to provide more on-going assistance to current schools and to increase the number of schools they are able to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

I was looking for a non-profit to help out and Catchafire matched up my favorite causes of educating girls in developing countries and water with a wonderful little non-profit. It was love at first "site". They drill wells, at schools, that bring water, which helps girls/children and the community be healthy with clean water and growing healthy food and also their economy and, and, and! The good just keeps growing like the food the school grows for the kids. They are different in their organization in that they have not only donated the well, they "co-own" it and have a real relationship with the school and the community. They make sure the well keeps going and the people learn how to take care of it. They use their funds and efforts very well. The executive director Joanne is very generous with her time and her kindness. It's a well run non-profit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe find new ways of promoting their efforts. They do as much for the people of south africa as some of the more well known water non-profits but those have a lot of social media exposure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 16, 2013

more

June 16, 2013

I have been connected with A Spring of Hope for the past six years. My son was the president of the Spring of Hope Club at his high school and the following year my daughter took over. It is amazing to me that with the dedication that both Brittany and Joanne have shown for their foundation has helped so many in so many different ways! They have educated many people on the needs of the young children in Africa and making us aware has also made us want to help. I am in awe of the time and energy they have put towards this nonprofit organization. The amount of schools, wells and gardens speak for them. They are true heros.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

The nonprofit Spring of Hope is just what the name says. It is Hope for one of the poorest regions in South Africa, which I have personally visited and been involved in a church well drilling project over the last 3 years. My first visit to South Africa was in 1989 as a business person invited to speak to their national executive search association and mu husband and I have subsequently visited South Africa and that region for a month every year for the last 6 years. South Africa is a special place for us. I met Joanne Young, the Executive Director, in January 2013 , at a speaking engagement that I was in charge of setting up, she came as the guest of Martin Brody who is in charge of the Ft. Lauderdale Rotary club's international water projects. The Ft. Lauderdale Rotary Club has worked on several successful well drilling projects with Joanne, and highly endorsed Joanne and A Spring of Hope as a non-profit that really gets the job done. The money you donate you can be sure goes directly to drilling wells for schools. With water these schools and children now have a real cycle of Hope. With water the children can plant fruit and vegetable gardens which provide food for them. There are a lot of orphans due to Aids, and many come to school hungry due to lack of food. The excess fruit and vegetables are sold in the marketplace in Acornhoeck and the monies go back to the schools to provide school supplies for the children. It is an amazing cycle of love and hope and empowers the school principals and school children to change their environment and their circumstances with something as simple as water. I was so impressed with this non-profit and what they are doing in South Africa, that I have volunteered to help Joanne put on the first gala fundraiser for A Spring of Hope this October 25th at the Seagate Hotel in Delray, Florida. It is rare that you see a non-profit as transparent, dynamic, and passionate about their work as A Spring of Hope. Gail Auguston-Koppen - Pompano Beach, FL
.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I have volunteered for the Spring of Hope for the past few years and am inspired by the tireless efforts of Brittany and Joanne to build wells for schools in South Africa. In additions to providing much needed water to the schools, they have teamed up with organizations that extend their initiatives to help the children and the communities learn how to grow fruits and vegetables, teach them life skills and provide basic medical care. 100% of the profits help the children and their communities. Their hard work has changed the lives of thousands of children, their dedication has warmed their hearts and their continued commitment continues to raise their beautiful spirit and lets them know that they are not alone. Thank you Joanne and Brittney for everything you do for these children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I have helped this organization when it was in the running for getting the Chase Community Bank scholarship for best new non-profit. I remember running after people in the King of Prussia Mall to get them to vote via Facebook and trying to explain Spring of Hope in the 10 seconds that people would listen to me! I had an amazing time and it felt great to teach random people about this cause and put on the pressure for them to help!

Clean water is the most natural and basic need to humans around the world, and it is more than sad to think that some places do not have it. The family who got Spring of Hope running are genuine good people who support this organization with money from their own pockets! And to think it was all started by a 14 year old girl, who was wise enough to recognize the water problem from other countries in need. The rest of us should be so wise to help our fellow humans!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

A Spring of Hope is a great organization and has been for years. They do great work no matter where they happen to be. It was started by a young girl and continues to help manyThe work they do is outstanding. Brittandy and Joanne who started and continue to put all their enerfy into this project deserves a great big Thank you for all their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

A Spring of Hope is an organization built on an idea that was born from Brittany and Joanne's personal experiences in South Africa. They focus on long-term solutions which would make the schools and the local communities self-sustainable. In this increasingly complicated world, where Water has become a "commodity", this team stands for what Water represents to these schools - Hope, energy, education and sustenance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

A Spring of Hope is a phenomenal organization! I attend school with the founder and it is her vision, passion, and drive that has aided in touching so many lives with this amazing endeavor. I would recommend to anyone looking for an organization where their donation will have a high impact to consider making A Spring of Hope a part of your philanthropic endeavors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

A Spring of Hope not only supports an amazing cause, but is also run by amazing people. While volunteering, you feel a true sense of community and pride knowing that you are helping make a drastic change in the lives of some very grateful people. Brittany and Joanne are two of the most dedicated people I have ever met, and I feel so grateful to have worked with them directly. This project deserves great praise for its tremendous and life-changing work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers