Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

The nonprofit Spring of Hope is just what the name says. It is Hope for one of the poorest regions in South Africa, which I have personally visited and been involved in a church well drilling project over the last 3 years. My first visit to South Africa was in 1989 as a business person invited to speak to their national executive search association and mu husband and I have subsequently visited South Africa and that region for a month every year for the last 6 years. South Africa is a special place for us. I met Joanne Young, the Executive Director, in January 2013 , at a speaking engagement that I was in charge of setting up, she came as the guest of Martin Brody who is in charge of the Ft. Lauderdale Rotary club's international water projects. The Ft. Lauderdale Rotary Club has worked on several successful well drilling projects with Joanne, and highly endorsed Joanne and A Spring of Hope as a non-profit that really gets the job done. The money you donate you can be sure goes directly to drilling wells for schools. With water these schools and children now have a real cycle of Hope. With water the children can plant fruit and vegetable gardens which provide food for them. There are a lot of orphans due to Aids, and many come to school hungry due to lack of food. The excess fruit and vegetables are sold in the marketplace in Acornhoeck and the monies go back to the schools to provide school supplies for the children. It is an amazing cycle of love and hope and empowers the school principals and school children to change their environment and their circumstances with something as simple as water. I was so impressed with this non-profit and what they are doing in South Africa, that I have volunteered to help Joanne put on the first gala fundraiser for A Spring of Hope this October 25th at the Seagate Hotel in Delray, Florida. It is rare that you see a non-profit as transparent, dynamic, and passionate about their work as A Spring of Hope. Gail Auguston-Koppen - Pompano Beach, FL
.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I have volunteered for the Spring of Hope for the past few years and am inspired by the tireless efforts of Brittany and Joanne to build wells for schools in South Africa. In additions to providing much needed water to the schools, they have teamed up with organizations that extend their initiatives to help the children and the communities learn how to grow fruits and vegetables, teach them life skills and provide basic medical care. 100% of the profits help the children and their communities. Their hard work has changed the lives of thousands of children, their dedication has warmed their hearts and their continued commitment continues to raise their beautiful spirit and lets them know that they are not alone. Thank you Joanne and Brittney for everything you do for these children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I have helped this organization when it was in the running for getting the Chase Community Bank scholarship for best new non-profit. I remember running after people in the King of Prussia Mall to get them to vote via Facebook and trying to explain Spring of Hope in the 10 seconds that people would listen to me! I had an amazing time and it felt great to teach random people about this cause and put on the pressure for them to help!

Clean water is the most natural and basic need to humans around the world, and it is more than sad to think that some places do not have it. The family who got Spring of Hope running are genuine good people who support this organization with money from their own pockets! And to think it was all started by a 14 year old girl, who was wise enough to recognize the water problem from other countries in need. The rest of us should be so wise to help our fellow humans!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

A Spring of Hope is an exceptional nonprofit. In some of the poorest and most arid parts of South Africa, ASoH provides rural schools with a dependable source of water for drinking, cooking, irrigation and hygiene.

In the areas served by ASoH, most rural schools have no running water.
For many, the primary source of drinking water is a tank truck sent out sporadically by the government.

At the schools they select, ASoH changes the dynamic by installing a modern electrically powered water well, and partnering with the school and other non-profits to install other components such as basic plumbing, irrigation systems, and rain catchers. ASoH also maintains contact with their schools to help ensure that the wells are maintained.

The changes at the schools can be profound. With a dependable water supply and an irrigation system, the schools are able to grow produce to feed the children. Some even grow a surplus they can sell to generate income for the school. And of course, the children are healthier as a result of being able to wash regularly. As a result, the schools become places where the children want to be, and where they feel safer.

Incredibly, because most of the administration is done by volunteers (BTW - the founders volunteer their time too), virtually all of the money raised through donations goes directly into projects on the ground. A real win-win situation.


More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I was born in South Africa and have lived in North America for the past 36 years. I am well aware of the shortage and, lack of availability, of clean drinking water (the basis for life) in many parts of South Africa, especially in the Mpumalanga area where A Spring of Hope is especially active. I was amazed by the wonderful work that Joanne and Brittany and their team do. I feel priviledged to have been asked to assist.
As a Board Member of A Spring of Hope Foundation, I am truly aware of it's accomplishments. As a successful Physician, it is now my opportunity to give back to the wonderful people of an incredible Country. No child should need to live without, clean drinking water, an opportunity for education and other things that we in North America accept as a given.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give more of my own time to this exceptional, worthy, Charitable Foundation

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

We have personally traveled in Africa and seen the desperate needs of the children for adequate schooling. Spring of Hope helps to facilitate fulfillment of that need by providing potable water for the children, which, in turn, allows them more time for, and less distraction from, their studies. They are truely providing "grass rootes" necessities for these children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing except raise more funds for their support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

A Spring of Hope is a great organization and has been for years. They do great work no matter where they happen to be. It was started by a young girl and continues to help manyThe work they do is outstanding. Brittandy and Joanne who started and continue to put all their enerfy into this project deserves a great big Thank you for all their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

A Spring of Hope is a phenomenal organization! I attend school with the founder and it is her vision, passion, and drive that has aided in touching so many lives with this amazing endeavor. I would recommend to anyone looking for an organization where their donation will have a high impact to consider making A Spring of Hope a part of your philanthropic endeavors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

A Spring of Hope not only supports an amazing cause, but is also run by amazing people. While volunteering, you feel a true sense of community and pride knowing that you are helping make a drastic change in the lives of some very grateful people. Brittany and Joanne are two of the most dedicated people I have ever met, and I feel so grateful to have worked with them directly. This project deserves great praise for its tremendous and life-changing work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

A Spring of Hope is an incredible organization. The people at ASoH really care about how effective their programs are, and they continue to evaluate programs to define success.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers