Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

Joanne and her team do critical work in bringing the most fundamental of resources – water - to those in impoverished areas who are in dire need. I have had the pleasure of witnessing first-hand how this organisation can transform the lives of those they assist. I do voluntary work with a small school in the Oaks village in Limpopo, South Africa. Before A Spring of Hope assisted with a borehole, the school had no running water and the principal would have to collect plastic containers of water by vehicle from a communal source several kilometers away from the school each morning. The school grounds have been dusty dry for years with no hope of a garden or trees for cooling in one of the hottest regions in South Africa. With their new borehole now actively providing water (since July/August 2014), this little school is planning for its new organic food garden, with Joanne’s team’s assistance and guidance. Being one of several schools in the region that have benefited from the organisation’s generosity, they have been able to share ideas and lessons with other schools who by now have mature organic permaculture food gardens. The project is, therefore, not only bringing much needed clean running water but also the possibility of a feeding scheme for young learners in an area that remains highly food-insecure. This organisation is authentic in its intentions and honorable in its delivery. I’m truly grateful our paths have crossed.
September 6, 2014

more

September 6, 2014

I first met Joanne when she accompanied Martin Brody from the Ft. Lauderdale, Rotary Club at a speaking engagement that I had booked Martin for at our First Presbyterian, Ft. Lauderdale Study and Renewal Center. Martin introduced Joanne as part of his program, and had her present the video on "A Spring of Hope". Joanne and I clicked immediately as I too had been to the region where" A Spring of Hope" was drilling wells, Acornhoeck, for the last 3 years and most recently just 3 months prior on a well project with our church. It was too much of a coincidence, we knew we were meant to meet and work together. Joanne and I got together after that presentation and decided to co-chair a first annual gala for A Spring of Hope, and proceeded to put it together a great committee of dedicated volunteers. " The Power of Hope" gala was launched at the Seagate Country club in Delray Beach, FL March 21, 2014. We had the South African Ambassador, Mr. Ebrahim Rasool as our Guest of Honor and Brittany, the founder, inspired the attendees with her story. It was a big success and will be an annual signature fundraising event for " A Spring of Hope".

The power of "A Spring of Hope" is it was started by Brittany, Joanne's daughter, when she was in high school. When Brittany on her initial trip to South Africa saw the conditions in the primary schools in Acornhoeck, lack of water, she decided to do something about it. Brittany came back and raised $10,000 for the first well at Baretta Primary School. The rest is history as they have continued to drill wells and empower school children and teachers to put in fruit and vegetable gardens to not only feed themselves but to also sell the excess in the marketplace for school supplies. This is clearly an inspirational, empowerment program of love and compassion that touches hearts and has been extremely successful. Brittany and Joanne are tireless workers, astute business women, and inspire others to do more. "The Spring of Hope" non profit is truly an amazing story of the power of one. In fact our Study and Renewal Center has invited both Joanne and Brittany back to be our January 2015 speakers for our "The Power of One" series highlighting ordinary people doing exraordinary things.

So mark your calendars because we hope to see you at our 2nd annual "The Power of Hope" gala, March 21, 2015. Check "The Spring of Hope" website: wwwaspringofhope.org for coming events and details as well as to make donations. This is a nonprofit you will want to support.
September 6, 2014

more

September 6, 2014

After meeting Joanne and Brittany it was clear they were dedicated to helping the villagers in South Africa, not by giving them stuff but by helping them become self-sufficient. The way things are structured as a donor, I have received feedback from Joanne and the women who I've helped. It is very satisfying to watch their progress.
June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

I had the honor of meeting Joanne and Brittany on their first trip to South Africa. Their dedication is absolute and inspiring. They have achieved and continue to work toward fabulous goals of helping so many people with their founding and development of A Spring of Hope. I am proud to support this fabulous organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I have been providing volunteer technical support to A Spring of Hope(ASoH) for the past two years. Professionally I am a water resources and sustainable development expert and have worked with non-profit organizations around the world that are supported by USAID and other large donors. When I met the Executive Director, Joanne and her daughter Brittany and learned of the great work they were doing in South African schools I was moved to help them as a volunteer. Without the benefit of any government or large organization funding they had already changed the lives of thousands of children and their families by giving them the gift of clean water for drinking and the ability to irrigate gardens for food. The assistance they provide is targeted to schools which is a ready made institutional infrastructure for providing not only water but training to their student on hygiene, sanitation, environmental protection, and improved irrigation methods. My goal has been to help them grow their organization and fundraising approach and to provide them technical advise on sustainable water programs so that a A Spring of Hope is itself a sustainable NGO. The wonderful work they have done so far is a drop in the bucket to the need that is there. I encourage others to help support ASoH so that they in turn can use their proven approach to help so many more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them grow in order to provide more on-going assistance to current schools and to increase the number of schools they are able to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

I was looking for a non-profit to help out and Catchafire matched up my favorite causes of educating girls in developing countries and water with a wonderful little non-profit. It was love at first "site". They drill wells, at schools, that bring water, which helps girls/children and the community be healthy with clean water and growing healthy food and also their economy and, and, and! The good just keeps growing like the food the school grows for the kids. They are different in their organization in that they have not only donated the well, they "co-own" it and have a real relationship with the school and the community. They make sure the well keeps going and the people learn how to take care of it. They use their funds and efforts very well. The executive director Joanne is very generous with her time and her kindness. It's a well run non-profit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe find new ways of promoting their efforts. They do as much for the people of south africa as some of the more well known water non-profits but those have a lot of social media exposure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 16, 2013

more

June 16, 2013

I have been connected with A Spring of Hope for the past six years. My son was the president of the Spring of Hope Club at his high school and the following year my daughter took over. It is amazing to me that with the dedication that both Brittany and Joanne have shown for their foundation has helped so many in so many different ways! They have educated many people on the needs of the young children in Africa and making us aware has also made us want to help. I am in awe of the time and energy they have put towards this nonprofit organization. The amount of schools, wells and gardens speak for them. They are true heros.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

The nonprofit Spring of Hope is just what the name says. It is Hope for one of the poorest regions in South Africa, which I have personally visited and been involved in a church well drilling project over the last 3 years. My first visit to South Africa was in 1989 as a business person invited to speak to their national executive search association and mu husband and I have subsequently visited South Africa and that region for a month every year for the last 6 years. South Africa is a special place for us. I met Joanne Young, the Executive Director, in January 2013 , at a speaking engagement that I was in charge of setting up, she came as the guest of Martin Brody who is in charge of the Ft. Lauderdale Rotary club's international water projects. The Ft. Lauderdale Rotary Club has worked on several successful well drilling projects with Joanne, and highly endorsed Joanne and A Spring of Hope as a non-profit that really gets the job done. The money you donate you can be sure goes directly to drilling wells for schools. With water these schools and children now have a real cycle of Hope. With water the children can plant fruit and vegetable gardens which provide food for them. There are a lot of orphans due to Aids, and many come to school hungry due to lack of food. The excess fruit and vegetables are sold in the marketplace in Acornhoeck and the monies go back to the schools to provide school supplies for the children. It is an amazing cycle of love and hope and empowers the school principals and school children to change their environment and their circumstances with something as simple as water. I was so impressed with this non-profit and what they are doing in South Africa, that I have volunteered to help Joanne put on the first gala fundraiser for A Spring of Hope this October 25th at the Seagate Hotel in Delray, Florida. It is rare that you see a non-profit as transparent, dynamic, and passionate about their work as A Spring of Hope. Gail Auguston-Koppen - Pompano Beach, FL
.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I have volunteered for the Spring of Hope for the past few years and am inspired by the tireless efforts of Brittany and Joanne to build wells for schools in South Africa. In additions to providing much needed water to the schools, they have teamed up with organizations that extend their initiatives to help the children and the communities learn how to grow fruits and vegetables, teach them life skills and provide basic medical care. 100% of the profits help the children and their communities. Their hard work has changed the lives of thousands of children, their dedication has warmed their hearts and their continued commitment continues to raise their beautiful spirit and lets them know that they are not alone. Thank you Joanne and Brittney for everything you do for these children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I have helped this organization when it was in the running for getting the Chase Community Bank scholarship for best new non-profit. I remember running after people in the King of Prussia Mall to get them to vote via Facebook and trying to explain Spring of Hope in the 10 seconds that people would listen to me! I had an amazing time and it felt great to teach random people about this cause and put on the pressure for them to help!

Clean water is the most natural and basic need to humans around the world, and it is more than sad to think that some places do not have it. The family who got Spring of Hope running are genuine good people who support this organization with money from their own pockets! And to think it was all started by a 14 year old girl, who was wise enough to recognize the water problem from other countries in need. The rest of us should be so wise to help our fellow humans!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers