Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
132 Reviews
1234.901525
Write A Review
December 20, 2014

more

December 20, 2014

It was such a great oppurtunity to be able to be a part of the christmas event at A Place Called Home. It was amazing to see the reactions of all the children receiving the gift bags that we were able to put together. I will definitely be back to volunteer.
December 20, 2014

more

December 20, 2014

Hello Everybody!! Had the best time #Volunteering @APlaceCalledHome. Seeing the kids all with smiles made up for waking up a bit earlier than usual and dealing with the cold weather. They have multiple events all year long sign up and volunteer. Happy Holidays!

Best
Wishes,
Erik
Starbucks
December 20, 2014

more

December 20, 2014

It was a struggle to get up so early on Saturday, but TOTALLY worth it to see all the excited faces of the children, and felt great to be able to help out! The children were greeted by Santa and were able to take part in crafts, go sledding down real snow, sip on hot chocolate and snack on cookies and then receive gifts to top it off. It was great to see all the people who took time out of their day to come out and organize and put this altogether. I'd definitely come back and help out next year and interested in helping out with future events!
December 20, 2014

more

December 20, 2014

Helped out at Home For The Holidays. Was very relaxed, while still getting work done. Enjoyed myself, the atmosphere, and the other volunteers. Will definitely help out again.
November 26, 2014

more

November 26, 2014

It was really fun and rewarding thank you. I really liked seeing the smiles on everyones faces and bonding with other volunteers.

The staff were very friendly an helpful also. Thanks!!
November 26, 2014

more

November 26, 2014

This was an awesome experience cant wait to do it again
November 26, 2014

more

November 26, 2014

My two sons, ages 14 and 11, and I volunteered this morning for the first time at A Place Called Home to help with their Thanksgiving dinner. All of the staff and other volunteers were so lovely and we were so impressed with the organization and the number of activities set up for the kids. We will definitely be back!
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

A place called home is a wonderful place for anyone that is looking for that full voluntering experience. APCH has wonderful staff member who serve as perfect leaders. They even commend you on your voluntering skills. Some of the coaches (coach alex and coach darrell) make sure that you are on top of game and help you learn their orderly routine. Once you volunter once at a place called home, you are sure to keep coming back. Once you start you realize very soon that apch isnt just a bunch of kids or a bunch of folks trying to get a paycheck. You realize its a family, its a home.
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

My experience volunteering at APCH so far has been exciting and worth while. I've been able to volunteer in various departments and under various staff members, so I've been able to see first hand just how A Place Called Home operates. The programs are well planned, the staff are dedicated, and the kids are kept occupied. I enjoyed working in the classrooms and working with the kids - definetely a cool option to gain experience in working with kids if that's the field you are going into.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perhaps provide training for volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

Every staff member I've had the opportunity to interact with during my experience at APCH is wholeheartedly committed to the success of each member. The organization recognizes the importance of not only the local community they serve, but the community of staff, interns and volunteers that come together each day to make programs possible. Their value to the 90011 zip code is evident in the community's response to and support of their tireless efforts to help youth in South Central succeed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist students with homework, help nutrition staff prepare dinner for over 200 children or prepare for an upcoming event such as our Cinderella project or a Volunteer Day in our garden or painting, etc. Volunteer