Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

I really love being a part of a small non-profit that is really making a difference on a personal level. AHIC is a boon to CoHo Ecovillage, enabling Mike to be our neighbor and a vital part of our diverse community. More generally isolation is a common side effect of disability, and cohousing is a wonderful cure which I'm proud to be a part of.
September 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 21, 2013

It's a pleasure to have Mike living in our community. He brings such depth to our lives, and models living a rich life with a disability for all those around him. It's wonderful seeing our community... more

September 13, 2014

AHIC is my favorite nonprofit. I love how friends, family, community members, and even strangers have worked together to make our collective dream for Mike a reality. Mike's energy, his attitude, and his commitment to community are a wonderful example for all those around him. I love seeing how my donations make a huge impact on so many people.
April 21, 2013

It's a pleasure to have Mike living in our community. He brings such depth to our lives, and models living a rich life with a disability for all those around him. It's wonderful seeing our community rally around helping those in need...something I cherish for myself and my family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 15, 2013

A Home In Community (AHIC) was created to buy an apartment at Coho Ecovillage that would be rented to a person with a physical disability. I have no voluntary movement below my neck, due to Multiple S... more

September 13, 2014

My apartment at CoHo Ecovillage is the first apartment home that I've had in my 40years as an adult. I feel like part of the community at CoHo by enjoying the benefits such as friendships, assistance and learning from others while being able to give back to the community by contributing my time and abilities to further the goal of CoHo Ecovillage.
May 15, 2013

A Home In Community (AHIC) was created to buy an apartment at Coho Ecovillage that would be rented to a person with a physical disability. I have no voluntary movement below my neck, due to Multiple Sclerosis (MS). It has been a challenge for me to be engaged in my community. I am the person that has been living in the AHIC funded apartment for the last 5 years. This has given me the opportunity to live in a co-housing community. The opportunities to be engaged in Coho are tremendous. I can simply roll out the front door of my apartment and engage with my neighbors. I can simply use my wheel chair to attend event in the community common house and neighbors homes or just go outside and talk to somebody. AHIC has made all of this possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't believe that any changes are necessary.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012

I am the current resident of the unit that was purchased by A Home In Community (AHIC). Living in CoHo Ecovillage for the last five years has been a life altering experience for me. I know and talk regularly with my neighbors. I feel like I am part of the community in CoHo which was never a feeling I had at the other places I rented. The community meals, community get-to-gathers such as barbeques, music events, movie nights, and work parties greatly increase my feeling that I am part of this community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

As a strong believer in diversity, I find AHIC a shining example of a group effort to create a more caring and strong local community.
September 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 16, 2013

AHIC provides a housing unit in a close-knit cohousing community for someone with physical disability and who lacks the means to buy into the community. It integrates someone into a village-like atmo... more

September 8, 2014

I love being able to see my money in action. Donating to AHIC produces a concrete result -- our neighborhood has a sense of inclusiveness because of the AHIC affordable units. It keeps us all mindful about accessibility issues, so people's behavior changes.
May 16, 2013

AHIC provides a housing unit in a close-knit cohousing community for someone with physical disability and who lacks the means to buy into the community. It integrates someone into a village-like atmosphere, someone who might otherwise live a very isolated life. AHIC provides the financial means to enable the members of the community to then act as their best selves, taking care of one of their own in other ways. AHIC makes the cohousing complex it occupies, and the entire neighborhood around it, a better and more humane place to live. It keeps us, as neighbors, thinking about accessibility issues, when we might otherwise just not notice them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it and its model to other neighborhoods and communities

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 19, 2013

A Home In Community is a wonderful, small nonprofit, focused on helping low income, physically disabled individuals to enjoy the benefits of living in cohousing communities. more

September 7, 2014

A Home In Community (AHIC) continues to be my favorite local charity. Of course, I'm biased, since I have the privilege of serving as its President! But, truly, we do great work. Please consider supporting us.
April 19, 2013

A Home In Community is a wonderful, small nonprofit, focused on helping low income, physically disabled individuals to enjoy the benefits of living in cohousing communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

I am fortunate to be the President of the small and wonderful organization, A Home In Community. Formed in 2007, it is our vision to increase awareness among cohousing communities and people living with disabilities about the mutual benefits of living in community together and to provide support and assistance to make it happen. You can learn more about us at www.ahomeincommunity.org

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

The organization is very well run. The volunteer staff is incredibly dedicated. The cause is extremely worthwhile.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

What I appreciate about this organization is that all the money goes straight to the cause- there is no paid staff. When you give here you know exactly what your money is doing- making it possible for disabled people without the financial resources to buy a home to enjoy cohousing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

A Home In Community has very effective leadership and uses its funds quite efficiently. The concept of this organization is working extremely well -- its first recipient, Mike, is very involved in the community, and both he and the community benefit from his living here, which wouldn't be possible without AHIC. In addition, I believe the friendships and interactions he gets by living here encourages and allows him to be more active in the broader community, so the benefit of this nonprofit is indirectly spread to many others as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

AHIC is important both for it's immediate impact on the life of its first tenant Mike Volpe and because of its promise for impacting many more similar people over time. Mike is an amazing paraplegic (from MS). He lives his life giving to others, yet without AHIC, there would be only his paid care givers to give back to him. AHIC allows him to live in a caring cohousing community. Living here he can visit friends via an easy unassisted exit out his door.

Cohousing is a growing movement world wide. AHIC's mission is to establish similar housing in other cohousing communities. Communities who will benefit from exposure to someone like Mike. Someone that will help many others see disabled folks as people with their own skills, strengths and weaknesses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers