Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.972225
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 15, 2013

What I appreciate about this organization is that all the money goes straight to the cause- there is no paid staff. When you give here you know exactly what your money is doing- making it possible fo... more

October 31, 2014

I think that AHIC is admirable because every dollar goes straight into buying a house in community that a disabled person can live in. There is a visible and permanent result from their work. Lives are made better. Our community of 70 people benefits from the presence of the disabled people who would otherwise not be able to be here, and the disabled resident benefits by being here in community. I myself learn a lot from Mike's attitude toward life.
May 15, 2013

What I appreciate about this organization is that all the money goes straight to the cause- there is no paid staff. When you give here you know exactly what your money is doing- making it possible for disabled people without the financial resources to buy a home to enjoy cohousing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

I wish there were more initiatives like AHIC, since the kind of work they do changes lives. I know this sounds like a ready made phrase, but in this case I feel that I can't find better words to describe what this organization does.
Providing a home for a person with a severe health problem
helps not only that person live a dignified life until the end, but it also helps the community as a whole. We all learn how to live with, learn about, be less afraid and embrace the humanity, challenges and gifts illnes can bring. AHIC made it possible for me to meet and spend time with a wonderful neighbour, a brilliant man that lives with Multiple Sclerosis. In short, thank you to all the people that make AHIC possible. My family have learned a lot from being a part of its community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any change.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

A Home in Community has provided Mike a home, and a whole community he can participate in. We fundraise together to donate money to help raise the funds for AHIC. It is a wonderful organization, and provides a unique way of life for people with physical disabilities.
September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

A Home in Community is a great nonprofit. I live across the path from Mike am regularly inspired by how much he gives to our community and what a great role model he is for the young kids in our world. I love seeing my donation dollars in action!
September 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

I live near CoHo Ecovillage. Our family visits the community most days, and we end up chatting with Mike a few times a week. He has often contributed produce from his garden to community meals I've he... more

September 28, 2014

I really appreciate Mike's participation in the CoHo community, which would not be possible without the help of AHIC. He is an active and insightful contributor to many community discussions, sometimes hosting small meetings in his home.
October 29, 2012

I live near CoHo Ecovillage. Our family visits the community most days, and we end up chatting with Mike a few times a week. He has often contributed produce from his garden to community meals I've helped prepare, and often comes along when he volunteers his helper to help with meal preparation. He is always ready and comfortable talking to our kids when they have questions about his condition, his wheelchair, or any other random thing about his life. It is a pleasure to have him in our lives, and I am grateful to A Home in Community for making his presence in the community possible.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

AHIC is an organization that gets things done. As a volunteer on the board of directors for the past few years, I know that AHIC provides valuable services with negligible overhead. We are helping t... more

September 23, 2014

AHIC does amazing things with volunteer labor. The mission is inspiring, and the organization is incredibly effective at accomplishing it. Our donors have supplied generous amounts of money to purchase a house at CoHo Ecovillage, which provides a home for a tenant with physical disabilities. After seven years in operation, we've almost paid off the loans on the house, and our tenant is a vital and well-loved member of the community!
October 30, 2012

AHIC is an organization that gets things done. As a volunteer on the board of directors for the past few years, I know that AHIC provides valuable services with negligible overhead. We are helping to diversify and improve quality of life at CoHo Ecovillage, and we are supporting other communities in their efforts to be accessible to people with physical disabilities. A Home in Community is not a think tank with questionable results -- it's a "do tank" with clear and visible results on the ground. These results are all the more impressive, given that AHIC is entirely staffed by volunteers -- truly a heartwarming story!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 16, 2013

The organization is very well run. The volunteer staff is incredibly dedicated. The cause is extremely worthwhile. more

September 20, 2014

The organizing is very well run. The volunteers do so much work for this organization. It is a great cause. It is inspiring.
May 16, 2013

The organization is very well run. The volunteer staff is incredibly dedicated. The cause is extremely worthwhile.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

I really love being a part of a small non-profit that is really making a difference on a personal level. AHIC is a boon to CoHo Ecovillage, enabling Mike to be our neighbor and a vital part of our diverse community. More generally isolation is a common side effect of disability, and cohousing is a wonderful cure which I'm proud to be a part of.
September 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 21, 2013

It's a pleasure to have Mike living in our community. He brings such depth to our lives, and models living a rich life with a disability for all those around him. It's wonderful seeing our community... more

September 13, 2014

AHIC is my favorite nonprofit. I love how friends, family, community members, and even strangers have worked together to make our collective dream for Mike a reality. Mike's energy, his attitude, and his commitment to community are a wonderful example for all those around him. I love seeing how my donations make a huge impact on so many people.
April 21, 2013

It's a pleasure to have Mike living in our community. He brings such depth to our lives, and models living a rich life with a disability for all those around him. It's wonderful seeing our community rally around helping those in need...something I cherish for myself and my family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 15, 2013

A Home In Community (AHIC) was created to buy an apartment at Coho Ecovillage that would be rented to a person with a physical disability. I have no voluntary movement below my neck, due to Multiple S... more

September 13, 2014

My apartment at CoHo Ecovillage is the first apartment home that I've had in my 40years as an adult. I feel like part of the community at CoHo by enjoying the benefits such as friendships, assistance and learning from others while being able to give back to the community by contributing my time and abilities to further the goal of CoHo Ecovillage.
May 15, 2013

A Home In Community (AHIC) was created to buy an apartment at Coho Ecovillage that would be rented to a person with a physical disability. I have no voluntary movement below my neck, due to Multiple Sclerosis (MS). It has been a challenge for me to be engaged in my community. I am the person that has been living in the AHIC funded apartment for the last 5 years. This has given me the opportunity to live in a co-housing community. The opportunities to be engaged in Coho are tremendous. I can simply roll out the front door of my apartment and engage with my neighbors. I can simply use my wheel chair to attend event in the community common house and neighbors homes or just go outside and talk to somebody. AHIC has made all of this possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't believe that any changes are necessary.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012

I am the current resident of the unit that was purchased by A Home In Community (AHIC). Living in CoHo Ecovillage for the last five years has been a life altering experience for me. I know and talk regularly with my neighbors. I feel like I am part of the community in CoHo which was never a feeling I had at the other places I rented. The community meals, community get-to-gathers such as barbeques, music events, movie nights, and work parties greatly increase my feeling that I am part of this community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers