Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 11, 2012

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2009

I was a student in A.H.A.V.A for seven years, and they taught me all my English that I currently know. If it weren't for them I wouldn't know how to speak or write in English as I do now. more

November 11, 2012

I learned in A.H.A.V.A as a kid. It was great, and taught me many basic skills that I needed but never learned in the regular school, as well as English, of course.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

October 28, 2009

I was a student in A.H.A.V.A for seven years, and they taught me all my English that I currently know. If it weren't for them I wouldn't know how to speak or write in English as I do now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

influence even more students in Israel, motivating them to learn English in their successful method, and the education in Israel would take a general change for the better.

Ways to make it better...

the organization had more money to fund more projects.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

As a teacher I get to see, first-hand, the impact A.H.A.V.A has on its students. Getting children excited about learning is rare now-a-days. Getting them excited about learning a language is nearly impossible and yet, A.H.A.V.A manages to do so in a fun-filled way. Children who can barely sing the ABC song are actually reading within a month. How amazing is that? From reading for charity with the annual Readathon to amazingly themed writing contests, these kids are learning skills in a language which is fundamental for succeeding in life. Remarkable!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My own students as well as nieces and nephews who have gone through the program and have gained invaluable skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Train more teachers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've learned to love teaching. It's an amazing experience to see a child who's been struggling and finally 'get it' and succeed. It's those moments I cherish.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Teaching these kids feels like I'm guaranteeing their future. How much better can it get?

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have a bad memory. But I remember when I was in kindergarten I got homework that I absolutely LOVED! We had to type words on a list, that go through a slit on a printed typewriter (we were learning the letter T). in fact, I loved that homework so much that when I found the book a year later, I did my homework again... A.H.A.V.A. makes sure your kid learns in the best way possible!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving a good English education.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

How did you find this group?

I found it through my mother.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To want to have a better society.

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

Getting your child to speak English in a country where English is not the native language is no easy feat, but essential if they are going to go on to college or even just find a job that can pay the bills. I wanted my children to have the skills to get ahead in Israel. Using an innovative curriculum, molded through years of experience, A.H.A.V.A. has given my children such a solid base in English that I know they will be able to succeed in English. After years of complaining, the other day one of my sons turned around and said "Thanks, mom, for making sure I learn English." That makes everything worth it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

Took their training course to teach. Great model of teaching! Incredible impact on students and their language skills and consequently their self esteem and lives. English is such an important skill in the workplace and world and this organization is doing a tremendous job in imparting these skills. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

It is hard for me to choose what my role in the organization is. I started out as a student in AHAVA. I have no doubt that my English that I learned has given me a head start and enabled me to go to the one of the most prestigious universities and study whatever I would like to. As a university student I volunteered in AHAVA, and continue to support AHAVA monetarily as I have absolute confidence that every agora is going towards helping Israeli children of all backgrounds move forward in the world in the best way possible. I can testify to AHAVA's dedication to every child and student. AHAVA is making the world a better place by helping children- of all ages, even adults- help themselves and the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

My daughter has been in the program for four years and despite living in Israel, she's reading at the appropriate level for her age. Not only is her level up to par, but her love of reading far exceeds what I could have asked for! We can't keep enough books on hand for her! And, my second child is in her second year of A.H.A.V.A. and she's well on her way too!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I helped set up the AHAVA website and attended to other computer needs of the organization. I found that the non-profit is run with very little waste. The CEO is extremely careful with the organization's funds, so that they will be used as much as possible to attain the non-profit's goals - increasing English literacy in school-age children - and not spent on overhead costs. I highly recommend this non-profit for its efficient use of resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

AHAVA does great work with children and teaching them to enjoy reading and promoting English literacy among our Israeli children. English is the universal language for communication as well as for higher education in our Israeli universities and this program makes it easy and enjoyable for kids to learn the language. English opens up doors and opportunities for our children and A.H.A.V.A. gives them the opprotunity to learn in a nurturing and relaxed atmosphere giving them the tools they need to succeed in school and in life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I see these kids grow and change in the program. I read a story to 3 kids in the program. When my turn was done they all read me a story in english and most importantly they understood what they read to me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us be an assistant in our class.