Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.685
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
February 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I can't believe that in exactly 1 month we will have had Parker for a year already! Parker is a Maltese rescued during the Valentine's Day Breeder rescue mission last year. When they found him this little dog had only known the cold confines of the metal cage he was living in. The amazing volunteers from A Forever Home pulled him from that darkness and the love and support he received from his amazing foster family showed him what it means to be a good dog in a loving home. No more cold or darkness.

This year has flown by and I can't remember what my life was like without Parker in it. It has been amazing to watch this little dog's personality and confidence emerge. He has brought so much joy to my family and I can't thank A Forever Home and Parker's amazing foster family enough.

It amazes me to think that this organization is funded solely through donations and run by an all volunteer staff. The lives they have saved and the joy they have brought not just to me but to so many families is inspiring.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I am a foster with AFH and I have been so impressed by how much care and compassion goes into every single dog. The organization takes care of every medical need these little ones have no matter how much it may cost. And they are committed to not only find a home for each one but to find a safe and happy home for them where they can live as a loved part of the family. They are all so precious that I always want to adopt every foster I receive but when I see the smiles on the adopters faces when they pick up their new pet, I'm always happy I get to give them that gift of a new friend!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

My family adopted our dog from A Forever-Home Rescue. It was love at first sight when we saw Ginny but there was four families ahead of us filling out forms. We were so glad that they did such a thorough screening of applicants because they ended up picking us! After we brought her home, I was in touch with her Diane, the woman who fostered her and sent her pictures. She was so dedicated to the dogs she fostered and it was such an easy transition. She even gave us the bedding she slept on in her home so it would feel familiar to her.

We would love to eventually adopt another dog. Thank you to A Forever-Home Rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
June 12, 2014

I have worked with AFH for more than 10 years, fostering both cats and dogs. My choice is to foster older animals who probably don't have much of a chance to get adopted, but still need lots of love and affection. AFH has always worked with me on this...more often than not I have the foster right up to their walk over the rainbow bridge. It can be heartbreaking, but it is also very rewarding knowing that I was able to give love an affection to an animal in their later years when the alternatives were probably horrible. AFH has always accepted responsibility for the animals vet care right to the very end...and, more recently, even getting ashes for them. They truly are there for the good (and happiness) of their rescues (and their volunteers).

Debbie Bourn
Chantilly, VA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do absolutely nothing....other than see that they have property and buildings for animal care and shelter themselves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

Starting from a necessary school project for my daughter to gain volunteer hours came a life changing experience and MUCH more. I found a part of this world that I did not know existed. Joining the AFH family I got to experience first hand how much cruelty goes on and just what a fantastic organization this really is.Every single person involved is a dedicated volunteer and strives for the one goal- to give each animal its FOREVER HOME - whatever the cost. Not only financial but total - medical and emotional too. Each and every cherished rescue receives love and dedication from the minute they arrive until the moment they pass to their new family and even beyond -with many wonderful relationships forged between foster and adopter and we continue to see them flourish. Many adopters return for another buddy and many recommend to friends, family and colleagues and some even open their hearts and homes and join us in the fight. This group is an exceptional band of friends that gave me personally a chance to blossom in myself and bring forth skills I never knew I had. I am very proud to have the opportunity to continue to volunteer for them and would welcome anyone that would like to assist in any way at all. Please consider adopting or volunteering with them - I promise you that you will not regret it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enable them to have a small facility of their own to dedicate to showcasing this great rescue group. Encourage more and more people to foster - the more fosters - the more dogs we can save

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

We looked at many organizations for the right puppy to join our family. We found the process to be overwhelming until coming across A Forever Home! There a foster walked us through the process, even though we weren't even adopting one of the pets she fostered! We have now had our little guy almost six month the and can't imagine life without him! I live the organization so much that I now volunteer for it!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

A Forever Home Rescue truly puts animals in need as a top priority. We owe our dog, Savannah's life to AFH and will be forever grateful. Thank you to all the hard work and dedication of the volunteers of AFH. Highly recommend AFH if you want to volunteer to help animals or adopt a rescue dog!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

May 31, 2014

more

May 31, 2014

The woman who edits the newsletter is wonderful! She travels the entire USA to save an animal!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 31, 2014

more

May 31, 2014

My last dog we got through AFH. He was the best thing to ever happen to me. I guess you can "luck" out with any rescue organization but AFH also made sure the dog was in good health -- really good health and gave me the full history. When he got sick and had to be put to sleep, I was devastated. After a time of recovery, I knew I needed another dog and started watching the AFH website. I saw a dog that was the size we wanted (small) and much younger than our last dog. It was definitely meant to be. I feel like AFH "matches" adoptees with adopters. This little guy is, again, healthy and so happy. The adoption was seamless and he must have been very happy with his foster because he adapted so well to us. It was as if he was always part of our family. I think it is a wonderful thing that AFH takes in last-minute emergency rescues as well as animals from rural areas where the animals have little chance for adoption. This is a great organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 31, 2014

more

May 31, 2014

AFH is the gold standard of rescue. I have been volunteering with them for 11 years and can't imagine being anywhere else. They are ethical, well-run, financially responsible, and the hardest working group of people I have ever met. Our volunteers rock!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it larger - more resources means more animals rescued!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers