Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.43865
Write A Review
October 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a small dog rescue owner, having owned 3 rescues in the past. Having recently lost my lead dog, and with one senior dog remaining, I began researching adopting another rescue. Several other organizations did not have favorable reviews &consistently negative comments. AFH had generally high ratings. They had a small rescue pup of 7 months of age that I was interested in. I am an above average dog owner, I have been an assistant obedience instructor for over 6 yrs at a local Maryland training club so I have practical knowledge of dogs, their behavior, and certainly training. Since my retirement, I have become a part time pet sitter/walker as well. So my life very much revolves around interacting with dogs. I can say 100% that my interaction with AFH was top notch from start to finish. I emailed the foster first to meet the dog. I was able to bring my current dog to meet the puppy at the foster's residence and was able to observe their interaction and ask questions. I submitted my application online (scanned) and received a response in 6 hrs. I was contacted for a phone interview in a timely fashion. I then had a home inspection at a mutually agreeable time. At every step I was told clearly what/when to expect the next step to occur. Each meeting was on time and as promised. For such a complex application process, this moved along like a well organized unit. Everyone was helpful, courteous, and they all seemed to care about what they were doing...saving pets and making sure they went to good homes. When a rescue goes to such lengths to vet it's potential adopters, it means they care about who they are adopting out to, not just statistics and numbers to "impress" sponsors etc. They want to make sure it works out for the life of the dog. One unique quality of this rescue is they DO NOT spay/neuter a puppy at 3 months of age like some other rescues. I have done some research and I personally believe super early spay/neuters have potential health issues(urinary incontinence in females, possible joint issues). Ideal is 5-6 months to spay a female before her first heat, and around 6 months for a male is best. I completely understand the need to eliminate unwanted litters thus the need to insure sterility of dogs going to new homes, but AFH accomplishes this without compromising the health of the dog in later life. They make you sign a contract that your young puppy has to be spayed'neutered by 6 months of age and they have to have proof or else they come after you. If your dog is more than 6 months of age when adopted, they will be fixed prior to leaving AFH. This is a win win, the dog is not sterilize at too young an age, no unwanted pet litters, and the organization can make sure owners do what they are supposed to do. Super arrangement. Highly recommend this rescue organization.
December 10, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Definitely beware of this horrible organization. You can be the most qualified person or family yet the pinheads on their review board can vote you down for no reason at all. My uncle, who was in law enforcement for over 20 years, worked with therapy dogs & dogs for people with disabilities, and also owned a dog the past 15+ years, recently applied for a dog at Forever-home. At the interview my uncle and the dog really hit it off, and he was told there were no other applicants at the time for the pooch. At the conclusion of the interview he was told he should get a call as early as that night and that the next step would be the procedure for picking up and payment. So this was a slam dunk right? Nope! 3 days later he gets an email from the tyrants on the review board , who for reasons UNKNOWN, denied my uncle the dog. In their denial email they stated that they had concerns and that they concluded that my uncles status lies outside of their guidelines for adoption. Well, what concerns?? What status??Their wasn't anything in the contract or discussed in the interview that caused any concerns. The gutless board has refused to answer numerous emails and phone messages. Funny that my uncle has passed reviews by 2 other rescues and is on a waiting list for the breed he requested. Guess its just our bad luck that Forever-home had the breed he wanted. If any other rescue would have been able to get this dog, she would now be in a loving forever home being spoiled with treats and toys. However she is still in the hands of of an organization that in my opinion is shameful & deplorable... and apparently, from reading other reviews, this type of incident has happened numerous times with Forever- home.
One more thing - I have noticed that on some of the reviews on this site that forever-home has written a reply....well golly gee, apparently a bad review gets you people to respond. If you have time to write a sugar coated response here, then why don't you have time to CALL people and tell them why they were denied and if possible work out the issue ??? Probably because, as one other person wrote, " You are discriminating, rude and heartless.
November 27, 2014

more

November 27, 2014

This is a great organization with seamless processes and leadership. And they are fast given the complication of the process they follow for each and every dog. We have been to many rescues but unlike many other rescues this organization is very respectful to its clients. Everyone cares for their animals and they stand behind their animals. They have great resources in case at any point in time after adopting the dog has some behavioral issues. We got great advise on choosing our vet and our trainer.. Even some secret tips on puppy chewing ( I am going to disclose that here-- it's vicks veporub on your favorite coffee table corner that you absolutely do not want your puppy to chew:)). We have not found our fur baby yet, but hopefully within early next year we will. We will be looking forward to it. Like us you believe that there is a dog for every willing family. Kids under 10 years, first time dog owners, full time workers or all of the above are not an automatic disqualification if you understand the challenge and willing to work around them. And that makes sense. There are 3-4 million dogs euthanized every year in US. If someone says you can't be the dream parent of even one of them, they are incorrect. You just need to find the right one. Thank you for being so awesome organization, thank you for treating us as your friends. Your organization proves that being an animal lover does not mean you need to be a human hater (I felt like that in many other rescues).
November 24, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 24, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

First off, the adoption process is very long and tedious, and it feels like a test. When I emailed the organization regarding my interest in a dog I was told to fill out an application online and submit it by email. I did so then was told there might be an issue with my location (AFH states they serve the Washington Metropolitan area, which my county is located within), because I lived in southern Maryland. Once I was approved for a home check, the following Sunday I went to the adoption event (had to fill out another application) to meet the dog and was interviewed by a representative, with no issues; all signs pointing to our approval. Then Tuesday night got an email saying the board of directors had deemed my "status" outside of their adoption guidelines. I responded requesting an explanation, got an email saying my message would be forwarded to the b.o.d, no response. Called their number, it's a voice mail box. Emailed the corporate email saying I hoped I could resolve what ever confusion that resulted in our rejection, no response.
I'm an avid dog lover with two very happy and spoiled dogs already, my application met all discussed guidelines. From my perspective AFH had a problem with coming all the way to Charles County, MD (where I live, which is within the Washington Metropolitan area [which is where they state they serve]) and denied me a furry companion because of it.
November 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

At first I thought A Forever Home was a stand up organization. I adopted a puppy I named Toby from them on October 12, 2014 after having an application reviewed, my references check, and my home inspected. I had never seen the puppy standing since he had not received all of his vaccines. When I got him home and put him down I realized he was extremely malnourished and within three days that he was ill and not just adjusting to new food. I took him to the vet by day 4 and he was dewormed and on day 5 received medications for a severe ear infection that he must have had for a very long time and an intestinal infection. By day 5 he started to display neurological problems. I took him back to the vet and she referred me to a neurologist which I took Toby to the following day. He prescribed some additional antibiotics because it appeared the ear infection had ruptured his ear drum and spread to his inner ear. I contacted A Forever Home to express my concern over the lack of care Toby received in his foster home. It appeared by the paperwork that he may have been there between 4 to 6 weeks and had been to a vet - but because of his condition - we questioned if he had actually received the medications listed on the form. I asked several questions the vet requested I ask - such as did he have any reactions to the medications that may have caused them to stop giving it to him, did he have any reactions to his vaccines. He had a brother adopted out through A Forever Home, were they aware of any neurological problems his brother was having. I said that any information they provide could only help us save Toby's life. They NEVER acknowledged or responded to my e-mail. Toby may not have been in their care as long as I thought he had but since they didn't bother to respond to me - I can only assume that he was.

Unfortunately, Toby continued to decline and the vet believes the infection had spread to Toby's brain and changed his medications to stronger antibiotics and steriods which are not normally prescribed to puppies but it was our desperate attempt to save him. Despite all of my vet's efforts - he lost his ability to stand and walk, lost his vision, and we believe was losing his hearing. Since he was not responding to even the super strong medications and he was continuing to deteriorate and was suffering greatly, he was euthanized on October 29, 2014. Despite the fact that he was dying the whole time I had him - he still managed to gain 9 pounds in 14 days.

I am aware that any time you adopt a rescue there are health risks and I am willing to take them. But in my opinion, Toby was neglected while in the foster home of A Forever Home and that neglect led to his suffering and death. The fact that the organization never responded to my e-mail and made no attempt to answer any of our questions to help Toby leads me to believe that they don't care about the animals after they are adopted out. I was not trying to give him back or get a refund - I fell in love with the puppy and I was going to keep him and take care of him. I spent well over $1,000 in medical bills in the two weeks I had him. All I wanted from A Forever Home was information to help Toby and to alert them to a possible problem with one of their foster homes.

Shame on A Forever Home. If you do adopt from them, take your pet to the vet the very next day and don't trust the paperwork they give you.
September 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Not such a good experience with A Forever Home.
The puppy we were looking at was listed as a Norwegian Elk Hound/Husky mix. Things were going well, and the Foster Mom actually brought him to our house for him to meet the kids after we had seem him at an event at a local pet supply store.

The following weekend, when we went to pick up the puppy, the Foster Mom was 2 hours late, causing our kids to miss a weekend event.
When we did get him home, we noticed that his stools were not healthy looking, so when he went to the vet, they discovered he had worms.
Now, all of this we could live with. A pain, no doubt, but nothing that won't fade over time. However, at a later trip to the vet, they asked "You say he's Norwegian Elk Hound and Husky?" Our reply was "That's what they told us". After looking him over, the vet said, "No, I think you have a Belgian Malinois here." We had never even hear of the breed, but he has every marking and the disposition of a Mal, except he's a bit shorter than normal. If you don't know anything about Mals, these are aggressive, military and police working dogs, usually used as attack dogs. I have 4 young kids. This is not good at all!!!
So beware of what these people tell you about the breed of the dog you are considering, as well as the health of the dog. They could just be making stuff up in hopes to pawn off another dog that they are not willing to give back to a kill-shelter.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Our daughter in law has been a rescue for over 100 dogs. We live just down the street and get to see the dogs that she fosters, 6 years ago she got a mom and her 2 puppies (dachshund). I remberance the day we saw our cutie, it was a very nice group,to work with. The dogs that they save is wonderful. This the way to bring a dog into your family and home. They all work very hard. 5 stars to A Forever Home Foundation Visit there adoption day and you will be happy you did
June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I am a foster with AFH and I have been so impressed by how much care and compassion goes into every single dog. The organization takes care of every medical need these little ones have no matter how much it may cost. And they are committed to not only find a home for each one but to find a safe and happy home for them where they can live as a loved part of the family. They are all so precious that I always want to adopt every foster I receive but when I see the smiles on the adopters faces when they pick up their new pet, I'm always happy I get to give them that gift of a new friend!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

My family adopted our dog from A Forever-Home Rescue. It was love at first sight when we saw Ginny but there was four families ahead of us filling out forms. We were so glad that they did such a thorough screening of applicants because they ended up picking us! After we brought her home, I was in touch with her Diane, the woman who fostered her and sent her pictures. She was so dedicated to the dogs she fostered and it was such an easy transition. She even gave us the bedding she slept on in her home so it would feel familiar to her.

We would love to eventually adopt another dog. Thank you to A Forever-Home Rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
June 12, 2014

I have worked with AFH for more than 10 years, fostering both cats and dogs. My choice is to foster older animals who probably don't have much of a chance to get adopted, but still need lots of love and affection. AFH has always worked with me on this...more often than not I have the foster right up to their walk over the rainbow bridge. It can be heartbreaking, but it is also very rewarding knowing that I was able to give love an affection to an animal in their later years when the alternatives were probably horrible. AFH has always accepted responsibility for the animals vet care right to the very end...and, more recently, even getting ashes for them. They truly are there for the good (and happiness) of their rescues (and their volunteers).

Debbie Bourn
Chantilly, VA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do absolutely nothing....other than see that they have property and buildings for animal care and shelter themselves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers