Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

I truly had a great experience while in Ecuador. I love everything about the family, the culture, the country, and the city, and I am very sad to leave. I hope I can return some day to volunteer and/or live here, because it has been a great experience. It’s great to see how your efforts volunteering can make such a difference in others’ lives, and how far your support can extend. 

Accommodation was great. Each volunteer has their own room, the apartment has internet and wifi access, and the meals and security were great. I never felt unsafe for one minute while in Ecuador. The food is all natural and fresh and the fruit is incredible. I am definitely going to miss the fruit and the daily soups at lunch the most!
. The family is some of the most caring, kind, and genuine people I have ever met. They truly make you feel that their home is yours, and they are willing to do everything possible to make you happy and comfortable. It has been a blessing getting to know this wonderful family and I am sad to leave them. I hope to return some day! Laura and family were always willing to do whatever needed to be done to make sure the project runs smoothly and happily.

Even though I had checked the weather, I wasn’t prepared for the climate. It gets really cold at night. I would have bought more long sleeve shirts and less short sleeve shirts, because it gets to almost freezing temperatures at night.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I took a leap of faith by coming across this opportunity to volunteer with A Broader View by simply searching on the internet. In speaking with the kind folks at ABV, I knew it would prove to be a remarkable experience and they put all my initial uneasiness to rest. Questions were answered and advice given. I made up my mind in a matter of days from finding ABV and booking my arrangements.
Equally, the Belize in country ABV coordinator was so warm and welcoming from the time that I arrived for pickup at the airport until departure. She brought another volunteer which I thought was very helpful to show me around and let me know how things have been going and should be done.
The children are lovely, happy, and my time there was so rewarding. I truly felt that I got to know many of them individually and their personalities. During my first week, the children were still on summer break, so most of the time was simply spent on play, fun, and conversations. We did do many helpful things around the campus to assist the director, caregivers and other staff.
I also brought some donation items for the children that were greatly appreciated like flip flops, socks, etc. In addition, I brought many activity things to play with the children like cards, puzzles, books, balls, play dough. My recommendation to ABV would be to hone in on an updated wish list, so folks who would like to bring donation items with them, can really know what is meaningful. Now that I have experienced life there, I really can see what types of other things are needed . I wish I could bring the world to everyone there. They are so deserving, truly!
September 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization does such a wide variety of help in many countries with a great variety of programs
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I really enjoyed working in the clinic. The doctors, nurses and nursing students were all very welcoming and helpful. I learned quite a few skills that are out of my scope of practice back home and I felt that the experience reaffirmed my design to nursing.
The clinic always needs gloves,
medical tape, catheters, a lot of which is cheaper to by here, Gloves are really important though; we’ve run out a few times during the middle of the day. As far as meds, pretty much anything, antibiotics, anti parasites, anti-fungal medications, metformin, malaria meds, and acetaminophen for children and adult too.
The host family I stayed with was very welcoming and went out of their way to make sure myself and the other volunteers had what we needed.
My favorite place was Utila, Its beautiful, full of backpackers from all over the world and a great place to learn to scuba dive. Cayos Cochinos is amazing as well. Check out with water rafting in Pico Bonito and Zip ling out in Sambo Creek.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I definitely had a rewarding experience and am glad that I had the opportunity to come to Cusco. I'm in love with the city and the overall atmosphere and have made some amazing memories. It was hard adjusting the first week (as it is with all new experiences) but once I got comfortable and settled in the city started to feel like a new home. I truly hope I remember all that I've learned here for the rest of my life.
If you choose to go to the girl’s orphanage, spend meaningful time with orphan girls’ ages (11-17) that need and will greatly appreciate the love and warmth you will bring to them. Help the girls overcome their homework difficulties with patience and kindness. On Thursdays you will play sports with them and be part of other various activities. Overall your presence and talks with the girls will help inspire hope within them and make them feel loved. Don`t expect to make drastic changes right away but know that you are making a difference as small as it may be. In order to make the most of your time it is extremely important to brush up on your Spanish as most of the girls cannot speak a word of English. Doing so you will have a much more rewarding and fulfilling experience.
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

I have paraglide, trekked, canoed, ridden elephants, explored ancient temples, traipsed through jungles, had tea on a mountain top above the clouds, and watched a Himalayan sunrise. But as I wrap up of my time in Nepal, there is no doubt about what has been my greatest adventure of all: third world medicine. The doctors I was lucky enough to learn from work seven days a week and never go on vacation. They pay out of pocket for those who are too poor to pay for treatment. They fundraise relentlessly for basic equipment and can only afford to dream about CT scanners and MRI machines. They fight every day to treat health problems that would be little more than a passing concern in the United States. This experience has been life changing and opened my eyes to the incredibly blessed life that I lead. And although it is difficult for just one volunteer to make a difference, I feel truly honored and humbled to have been able to touch even a few lives. 

September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I was surprised at the way I was included and accepted by the locals- not only my host family, but also villagers I passed who didn't speak English or know exactly who I was. On the way up the mountain from a festival in town, we passed a group of women playing drums outside the temple. They invited me to dance to their chant. I never expected I would be the first one to dance in a group of strangers at a festival, but how could I say no? It was my honor to be accepted and valued.
I'm glad that I found ABV. This organization will make you a part of the family and make you feel truly valued. I knew when I went to Nepal that I would have the adventure of my life, but I didn't anticipate feeling so at home. I always felt taken care of, and I had the chance to contribute, too. ABV put me in a home where I could experience Nepal in the most authentic way. By the time I left, my new friends were telling me I seemed Nepali. I'm so happy I could contribute to this organization that does real work to improve the living conditions of many Nepalis.
February 28, 2014

more

February 28, 2014

My favorite memory of this trip was being able to connect with the people I met in Uganda. It was very humbling to hear their stories and a pleasure to be in their presence. The most difficult thing I experienced is not knowing how I can effectively teach the children with limited resources. You don't need a lot of clothes. Regular T-shirts, pants, long skirts, and comfortable shoes are highly recommended. Avoid bringing anything white. Bring extra money to help students pay for uniforms, food, etc. The ABV staff responded to my questions/concerns right away. I was very well pleased with the support they provided me prior and after leaving the project. The local ABV Director was very informative. She checked up with me daily while in the foreign country to make sure I was doing well. There is nothing like volunteering overseas. It has allowed me to broaden my understanding towards different cultures and has given me a new perspective on life. It made me realize how fortunate I am to even have clean water and food on the table, everyday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2014

more

February 27, 2014

My experience in La Serena was really amazing and I am so glad that I did it. The work that is done at the children’s home is truly incredible and I am really happy to have been a part of this project. Getting to know the children and the workers was so great and I learnt a lot during the 6 weeks, whether it was about Chilean culture, the language or washing and changing babies. Also my host family (Wilma, Juan Carlos and Romina). Wilma did so much for me during the stay, she was always willing to help me with anything at all, and nothing was too much for her. The family really did make the experience for me, I felt completely comfortable and welcome in their home and learnt a lot about Chilean culture from them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 7, 2013

more

December 7, 2013

Read the materials that ABV provides for Cusco. I thought the “ABV Pre-Trip Guide for Peru” really covered everything I personally needed to know. Once you are on site let the person who is directly in charge of the program to which you are assigned know if you have any talents beyond those that qualified you for the official position. It just might be that the program has needs or desires that your additional talents can help fill. Look for opportunities, be creative and work to provide what the people in charge of the program want. The program was amazing thank you for the opportunity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us online, sharing our Facebook, Twitter, Youtube, and other social networks Volunteer