Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
83 Reviews
1234.915665
Write A Review
March 27, 2015

more

March 27, 2015

I’m very glad that I chose this program in Honduras with A Broader View, the location, and to go over Spring Break. A Broader View was a great choice because of large amount of support and information given to me before and during my stay. The location was good because it was close (a short plane trip), good weather, friendly people, and very impactful with its culture and economy. The short time period was a good choice because it allowed me to have enough time to adjust but also ensure that if I did not like the program (since it was my first time traveling abroad for medical volunteering), I would return home soon. I learned a lot in how imperative it is to be able to improvise, think on the spot, communicate in a profession, understand and become integrated within a culture, and analyze a situation to find the underlying problems. I plan to do more of this kind of work once I improve my Spanish and experience.
March 20, 2015

more

March 20, 2015

Despite only being able to stay a week my volunteer experience in Tanzania was worthwhile. I learned a lot about HIV/Aids I did not know and it was eye opening to see how a different culture handled the disease. It was amazing how open everyone was to answering all my questions and educating me on health care in Tanzania and the history of Tanzania as well. My individual placement was far away and as intimidating as it was to travel such a far distance-I increased my self-autonomy. I also considered myself an independent person but now I definitely know this to be true. It was also amazing how I was able to visit with the children at the program and get that experience as well. I cannot wait to return back to Tanzania one day and stay for a longer period of time.
March 19, 2015

more

March 19, 2015

The staff at A Broader View is without a doubt, one of the best-prepared, most responsive, professional offices that I have ever used. I am not sure what the person below is talking about. When I needed to postpone my trip I was given a chance to reschedule -- within a six month period. The folks at A Broader View were great. Not one question, no matter how trivial, went unanswered. They run a worthy business which does great things in the most desperate places in the world.
March 18, 2015

more

March 18, 2015

I have donated my time and also sponsored a child to attend school. I notice their Website is always being updated to try an answer most concerns and questions that arise. Their response time to calls and emails are immediate. This is a truly worthy Nonprofit to volunteer if not time then a monetary donation will also go along way.
March 5, 2015

more

Review from Guidestar
March 5, 2015

This is the most unprofessional and disappointing organization I have ever encountered. I had a family emergency before I was scheduled to participate in one of their programs and the organization head told me that I would be able to reschedule my trip. When I tried to reschedule, I was confronted by three incredibly rude and unprofessional employees who contradicted themselves and each other. In the end, they refused to allow me to participate in the trip that I paid over $1250 to participate in. They also refused to provide a reimbursement. Normally I would be happy that the money is at least going to charity however in this case I noticed that in 2013, over 124,000 of the organization's approximately 442,000 revenue went to the salaries of two employees. I am not thrilled that 30% of my donation will be going to the salaries of the individuals who refused to allow me to participate and treated me with unbelievable disrespect. Next time I pair with a volunteer organization I will be much more careful to look into the legitimacy and professionalism of the organization before I hand over any money.
February 15, 2015

more

February 15, 2015

Volunteering at a health clinic in Xela Guatemala for past two weeks was a revitalizing experience. During the past semester in college, I went through some emotional troubles and thankfully, this trip helped me get my life back on track. It inspired, within me, motivation to continue pursuing a career in the health field and self confidence that I saw disappearing in the past few years. During my time here in Xela, I had the opportunity to give vaccinations to babies, learn and practice Spanish, visit Fuentes Georginas, hike up a hill to see all of Xela, celebrate Christmas and New Year´s with my family, and many other things. I am extremely grateful for the time I spent volunteering in Xela, and I hope I can come back soon to work in the clinic again.
My host family was very welcoming. I really enjoyed eating their home-cooked meals. I had the chance to celebrate some festivities with my host family, and I had a lot of fun spending time with everyone. Tamales are a traditional food served during the holidays and I loved eating them! My host family made sure I was safe, but they also gave me a lot of freedom to explore Xela.
My main task at the health clinic was to give oral vaccinations to babies, and a lot of them cried afterwards because of the bitter taste. However, there was one baby boy who actually smiled after I gave him his vaccinations, and he also gave me a kiss on the cheek afterwards. It was the cutest gesture!
The ABV in the USA prepared me well for the trip. They sent me a program summary that outlined my daily schedule and explained how I would get to Xela from Guatemala City. The staff members answered my questions promptly and made sure I went over all of the important information.
January 29, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Being here in Honduras for 2 weeks in the Premedical program seemed like a very short amount of time for me. I felt that I had a purpose there and was doing something useful. Also meeting and making friends with the nurse and doctors and helping them out was a rewarding experience for me.
The
accommodation was really nice; no AC, cold showers which are really not a problem as its so hot in La Ceiba, the meals are good and although different, usually the hosts make sure you are well fed. As for security as long as you are aware of your surrounding and know when and where not to be, I felt safe.
December 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

At first it was a bit of a shock to work with the children with special needs. They have such an unfortunate range of disabilities, and this kindergarten/pre-school is very understaffed. Many of them were also orphans. It was however really rewarding to see how much joy they still found in their everyday life, regardless of their circumstances.
My experience was great and working at the two placements I did got the opportunity to really help out with these children. I’m glad I went for as long a period as I did, as it takes time to get to know the children enough to really help them (especially the autistic and mentally challenged kids).
The coordinator was great, and helped me out with whatever I needed. She was really supportive and worked hard with me to help in my efforts to buy Christmas presents (clothes, blankets, toys) to over 400 orphans and disadvantaged children. I appreciate that a lot.
December 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The most difficult thing I experienced in Peru Cusco was visiting an orphanage for children with special needs. All of them had been abandoned by their parents. The staff was working day and night to make their lives the best possible, but they desperately needed more help. The orphanage was severely understaffed, and they were dependent on volunteers' help. I urge all of you to come here and help these children, they need so much help and love. My local coordinator (Beatriz) in-country support was wonderful!. My coordinator took me on a tour of the city my first day, gave me a telephone, and was available every step of the way after that. Really really excellent! Make SURE you make time to visit Machu Picchu. It was absolutely spectacular and a must see when in Cusco. They won't exchange one dollar US bills, so make sure you have larger bills.
December 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When I first touched down in Accra and walked out of the airport I did not know what to expect or what the next 2 weeks would hold for me. I can honestly say in the short period of time I was able to get to spend time with a large amount of the children from the home, go out and really observe yet experience what the Ghanaian culture had to offer in Kpando and Accra. I went on this mission trip with the intentions on touching those I met but in reality they touched me in ways I could never describe. The experience was extremely humbling and it was amazing to compare a country that had very little but were the happiest in comparison to mine that is quite fortunate yet unappreciative and stressful. I enjoyed being careless and living life day by day. They taught me to appreciate all of my blessings and look at my glass as half full and never empty.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us online, sharing our Facebook, Twitter, Youtube, and other social networks Volunteer