Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.949155
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
February 28, 2014

more

February 28, 2014

My favorite memory of this trip was being able to connect with the people I met in Uganda. It was very humbling to hear their stories and a pleasure to be in their presence. The most difficult thing I experienced is not knowing how I can effectively teach the children with limited resources. You don't need a lot of clothes. Regular T-shirts, pants, long skirts, and comfortable shoes are highly recommended. Avoid bringing anything white. Bring extra money to help students pay for uniforms, food, etc. The ABV staff responded to my questions/concerns right away. I was very well pleased with the support they provided me prior and after leaving the project. The local ABV Director was very informative. She checked up with me daily while in the foreign country to make sure I was doing well. There is nothing like volunteering overseas. It has allowed me to broaden my understanding towards different cultures and has given me a new perspective on life. It made me realize how fortunate I am to even have clean water and food on the table, everyday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2014

more

February 27, 2014

My experience in La Serena was really amazing and I am so glad that I did it. The work that is done at the children’s home is truly incredible and I am really happy to have been a part of this project. Getting to know the children and the workers was so great and I learnt a lot during the 6 weeks, whether it was about Chilean culture, the language or washing and changing babies. Also my host family (Wilma, Juan Carlos and Romina). Wilma did so much for me during the stay, she was always willing to help me with anything at all, and nothing was too much for her. The family really did make the experience for me, I felt completely comfortable and welcome in their home and learnt a lot about Chilean culture from them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 7, 2013

more

December 7, 2013

Read the materials that ABV provides for Cusco. I thought the “ABV Pre-Trip Guide for Peru” really covered everything I personally needed to know. Once you are on site let the person who is directly in charge of the program to which you are assigned know if you have any talents beyond those that qualified you for the official position. It just might be that the program has needs or desires that your additional talents can help fill. Look for opportunities, be creative and work to provide what the people in charge of the program want. The program was amazing thank you for the opportunity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am deeply impressed by volunteer organizations around the world, by people who dedicate their work, time and lives for helping less fortunate around the world. I volunteered with A Broader View last summer and their support was invaluable. Thank you ABV for making the world a better place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more financial support

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The impacts of aid offered to new generations around the world is amazing !!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Having worked for A Broader View for some years, it still amazes me how the act of volunteering can change both the volunteer and recipient. Lives are changed every day because of ABV ....and it is outstanding. Keep going and growing !!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Having done development work globally, I am deeply impressed with the extraordinary work the great volunteers at A Broader View Volunteer Corp so making a positive impact throughout the world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more people support it!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2013

more

December 5, 2013

Volunteering in Tanzania was an eye opening trip and let me experience the culture first hand. I made a connection with the children that I will remember for the rest of my life.
I wish I would've learned more Swahili before going and taken mosquito repellent to the Masai village.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2013

more

December 5, 2013

I think this experience is very interesting. I've learned a lot about Cusco/Peru's culture. Spending time with the kids at the Kindergarten was a fun experience. The children were friendly and sweet. Although, we only understand and speak very limited Spanish, this did not stop us from interacting and having fun with the children.
The accommodation was good. Location was convenient as it was very close to the kindergarten and the Spanish teacher's house. The meals were healthy and gave us a good representation of Peruvian food. Host family were very very nice. They were very accommodating and shared everything with us without any hesitation. Also, we appreciate their patience with us especially when we are having a hard time understanding Spanish. We're very thankful to Maria and her family for welcoming us in their home.
Beatriz was very welcoming and hospitable. She showed us around the city, as well as outside the city. We weren't actually expecting for her to spend her weekend with us but she did. We were so thankful for it because we were able to really explore Cusco. She was also very informative about Cusco's culture and we learned a lot while exploring with her.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2013

more

December 5, 2013

The local ABV Coordinator in Peru Cusco was very helpful and accommodating. The coordinator took us around for a city tour in Cusco and helped us to settle down. The coordinator also took us to a couple famous places in Peru. We really appreciate her time and effort. She was also very approachable. We felt like we could always reach out to her if we needed anything.
It was really a memorable experience for me. I learned a lot during the seven days with the program. I have understood more and experienced the local culture in Peru, as well as picked up some Spanish words. This volunteer experience has really broaden my view of the world. I will definitely recommend the program to anyone.
The host family was very welcoming and nice. We felt like at home. The accommodation and meals were very good. We had our private bathroom and bedroom. The host family also prepared all the meals for us. We felt very comfortable to stay here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us online, sharing our Facebook, Twitter, Youtube, and other social networks Volunteer