Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.833335
Write A Review
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

We are proud to support 4 Paws For Ability Inc. through our Cars 4 Causes Vehicle Donation Program. The funds generated through this program go far to help them provide service dogs to children with disabilities and Veterans who have lost limbs or hearing. It is our pleasure to assist 4 Paws For Ability Inc. in their open-hearted efforts to provide service animals to the people they serve. This organization is impacting lives!
May 27, 2014

more

May 27, 2014

My grandson will be receiving a seizure assistance dog from 4 Paws next month (June 2014)! Thank goodness 4 Paws works with children who need service dogs - since my grandson is 8 years old. We have worked with this organization fundraising for this dog - and have been treated with concern and encouragement. We can't wait to take the 2 week training class. Karen Shirk has had an amazing story and has been helping children and veterans meet their needs while enabling each of them have a better quality of life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2013

more

August 2, 2013

4 paws for ability changed our lives. they gave my daughter a best friend. we can now go shopping or for walks something my 6 year old Shyanna could never do due to her autism.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 15, 2013

My daughter received a service dog from 4 Paws last summer and we are beyond thrilled! The dog is incredible and a perfect match for our family. The staff at 4 Paws is available to answer questions and help solve problems (there have been very few because our training was so thorough). 4 Paws is an amazing organization and has made such a difference in our family's life, as well as so many others they have served. I highly recommend 4 Paws to any family that could benefit from a service dog- they (and the dogs they train) are FANTASTIC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2013

more

March 28, 2013

We are currently in the process of completing our service dog training with 4 Paws and I have to say I am completely amazed by this team. My son’s service dog name is Sherbert and Jonathan and her are amazing together not only is she always aware of him but she alerts to him on point. Our first alert was 8 hours ahead of time but it was not just another service dog alerted with her. My son seems amazing other for his telltale sign of the wheelchair but for the most part, he has his own set of issues and now with Sherbert in our lives I am starting to see a lot of the major things calm down. Meltdowns no longer last 3 hours we are down to about 40 minutes as well as well, as I know seizures are coming before they are there which his doctors say he medically does not have. Sherbert proves her worth within the two weeks of training. I recommend 4 Paws to anyone who wants to provide their special needs child a better quality of life as well as gain somewhat of a normal life for your family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 28, 2013

We received my son's service dog, Omri, in Feb 2012. He has high functioning autism. Our Service Dog has been an absolute LIFE SAVER! He has enabled us to be a "normal" family. We don't have to worry about my son bolting or running off during my other son's soccer games or practices. The meltdowns have ALMOST stopped since getting Omri. Omri seems to just know when something's not right wiht Matthew & will instinctively move to protect him or comfort him. He has also detected pneumonia, something he was NOT trained to do, in my other son. Omri is definitely a God-send & I recommend 4 Paws to anyone!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 21, 2013

Where do I begin? Did a major amount of research before choosing 4 Paws for Ability. I did many searches on the internet, talked to present clients that received dogs and spoke candidly with Karen Shirk in regards to any concerns or questions I had. I was happy, but when we attended class, we got so much more than I expected. We continue to get support from the trainers and I know I made the right choice. My child was turned down my Canine Companions for Independence and now, looking back I'm so happy that they did. The dog we received from 4 Paws for Ability was trained specially for my son. I would recommend this organization over and over again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013

more

March 21, 2013

My daughter received her first service dog from 4 Paws in 2006. He has been working for her for the past 6 years. He is an amazing addition and help to our daughter who has a significant trauma history causing bioneurological problems. Her dog is specifically task-trained to meet her individual needs. As her dog approaches retirement, we are beginning the process of getting ready for her second dog. We recently made a trip to 4 paws and spoke to their trainers about our next dog.

Our daughter is nonverbal and uses sign language. Her next dog will likely be trained to interact with her using signs. The folks at 4 Paws bend over backwards to meet the needs of their clients. Whenever we need to call or ask questions, 4 Paws is very quick to get back to us with the answers.

We so appreciate the work they do and the outreach they provide to all their clients with disabilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2013

more

March 16, 2013

I emailed this organization about their availability for possible services of which would better assist me to provide for my 9 yr. old daughter, who was only recently diagnosed with High Functioning Autism. The return email I recieved confirmed they do not provide services for our needs but it also belittled resource we created to provided a viable, not to mention legal, resource for my daughter. While I accept they do not provide the services I need, I was shocked at this response. It seemed to me, we were pigeon-holed into a category without the slightest bit of courtesy or empathy for the heart-breaking struggle someone in our position must be undergoing.

For people who are unaware, while children with HFA do not display the same impairments as low and mid functioning autism children, HFA children are often VERY actively suicidal, not to mention capable of, because they are considered to be behavioral problems. Because they are "a smart child" diagnosis is problematic, therefore they are treated with low regard by the public school system, after all, they should be able to "get over" or deal with the normal every day teasing from other children and expected to fall into line like the other kids do.

I most certainly did NOT expect nor request this organization to change their function or mission. All I am saying is that it would have been nice not to have had blind judgement so readily passed against us. We get enough of that already.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

4 Paws for Ability provides service dogs that change the lives of children with autism, seizures, crippling physical challenges, severe downs syndrome and combinations of these challenges. They are understanding, compassionate and change lives for the child and their family.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers