Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2013

I literally stumbled onto 1Boy4Change. Chris has changed our lives and given us hope. They gave us support when we got our puppy. They arranged for training here in Canada when I needed it most. They ... more

March 19, 2014

In Jan 2013 we learned about 1Boy4Change and we were immediately impressed. Janet & Chrus were supportive in us obtaining and training our puppy. Just this week we were tested and our dog, Zoey officially became a service dog. Throughout the entire process, you never feel alone or excluded. The entire 1Boy4Change organization has done nothing but amazing things. From guidance with your service dog's training to support with more personal issues. They are a non-profit organization that makes dreams come true!
April 10, 2013

I literally stumbled onto 1Boy4Change. Chris has changed our lives and given us hope. They gave us support when we got our puppy. They arranged for training here in Canada when I needed it most. They are available no matter the day or night...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2013

1Boy4Change actually found me and I am so glad they did! I was trying to raise $10,000 for a PTSD service dog from a different organization...something that was not going to happen anytime soon! I app... more

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

1B4C paired me with my service dog in training Phoenix in May 2013. Nearly a year later we are very close to becoming a fully graduated service dog team. They have been there to support me through the whole training process and our trainer from FL even came up in November to check on us. We will be going to her to finish our training in June and I could not be more excited. SDiT Phoenix has been a blessing I never could have imagined having. Chris, Janet, and their team made that possible. I am forever grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2013

1Boy4Change actually found me and I am so glad they did! I was trying to raise $10,000 for a PTSD service dog from a different organization...something that was not going to happen anytime soon! I applied and was approved on the very day my application arrived. Since then Janet and Chris have always been available to respond to my questions. This is such a unique organization, not many places give you the opportunity to puppy raise your own service dog and interact with others who are on their waiting list. 1Boy4Change doesn't just accept you for a service dog, they adopt you into a FAMILY. Chris Carswell is a hero in my book, without his drive to help others I would not be getting the service dog I so desperately need to live a normal life. THANK YOU 1Boy4Change!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 12, 2013

It has almost been a year since i met Chris and he brought my son his service dog! What a wonderful year it has been... We can safely go to stores with out losing my son, he can go in the yard and his... more

March 19, 2014

We have had our Service Dog from 1Boy4Change.org for almost 2 yrs now. They have been the most wonderful nonprofit to interact with. They still help us with any equiptment we may need, any advice we need and a listening ear when I need it! A wonderful family oriented organization that has changed our lives and helped to make my non-verbal autistic son safe and more independent!
April 12, 2013

It has almost been a year since i met Chris and he brought my son his service dog! What a wonderful year it has been... We can safely go to stores with out losing my son, he can go in the yard and his Service Dog is always on watch... When our dog had a medical issue 1boy4change stepped right up and helped us out, they are wonderful and their organization is Life changing!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2012

My son was a recipient of a service dog from 1boy4change. He was hand delivered to us, from caring, genuine "salt of the earth" good people! They were able to give my non-verbal autistic son not only a fully trained autism service dog, but a friend. I have raved about and recommended this organization to friends and family. Chris Carswell, K9 Bronx and his greatest supporter his mom Janet Are truly doing wonderful things and I am in awe of them. Thank you 1boy4change, you changed our lives and I thank you with all my heart! Cindie Oatley

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2013

Chris and 1boy4change are the most amazing people. They have supplied my 5 year old son eith a multipurpose service dog. Because of them when our service dog if fully trained I eill be able to sleep ... more

March 19, 2014

1b4c is one of the most amazing orgainiztions we have ever dealt with. my husband and i were in the process of trying to raise $13,000 for a service dog for our disabled 5 year old son. when 1b4c found out they were able to get us a dog for only $1,000 and that was covered by a grant. They haven't just helped our son but they have become a part of our family! not to mention what they do for police k9 teams with their heat alarms and providing non verbal children with ipads so they can communicate. Chris and Janet go above and beyond just being a non profit. they truly care about each of the people they help.

my son and his service dog are a perfect match and it is all because of 1b4c!

they have also helped every family i have ever asked them to consider helping.
April 10, 2013

Chris and 1boy4change are the most amazing people. They have supplied my 5 year old son eith a multipurpose service dog. Because of them when our service dog if fully trained I eill be able to sleep better knowing that the dog will tell me if my son is in danger. Tonight was a perfect example of how she eill keep himnsafe in a public area. He took off amd was headed towards the road. 1boy4change has given our family oeace of mind. Comfort and a New extended family. I could never say enough kind words for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 18, 2014

more

March 18, 2014

1Boy4Change is simply amazing, after applying to numerous other organizations like this and being denied they took us in and I'll never forget the words they said to me," it's ok, we are here for you" because of them my special needs son had a friend and not just that but a life line in his service dog ally. I will always and forever be in their debt for the joy they have brought to my family and for the hope in myself that they have renewed.
March 18, 2014

more

March 18, 2014

Our family has had the best working relationship with 1 Boy 4 Change. Anytime we had questions or needed help with Balto our son's Service Dog they stepped in ASAP to help. They did an amazing job training Balto and continuing to keep in touch with our family after his graduation from their program. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a great honest non-profit.

Amanda H
March 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 19, 2013

In 1998 I was diagnosed with PTSD for my time in Bosnia. I was medically released from the service in 99. I was a mess for several years, even spending time in the hospital from my PTSD. After the ... more

March 18, 2014

This boy, no man, does for so many when one would only do for himself. I am a disabled Vet w/ PTSD and he is doing everything in his power to get me PTSD trained service dog. Unlike most training I can not be present for most of the training due to the severity of my Illness, but that has not stopped him and will soon have my dog and help me again gain my freedom.
April 19, 2013

In 1998 I was diagnosed with PTSD for my time in Bosnia. I was medically released from the service in 99. I was a mess for several years, even spending time in the hospital from my PTSD. After the hospital stay things were looking better, for I had learned had to cope with the symptoms of my disorder. This held well till Oct of last year when a stressor broke me. A three story flood had happened destroying my upstairs bathroom, through my kitchen, and into the basement where it went down the drain.

Now I had always looked over my shoulder everywhere I went, kept my back to walls and sat in corner booths at restaurants, but something was different now. I couldn’t seem to handle being anywhere for too long without having an anxiety attack. I basically started to become a shut in and stayed away from everything. Trips to stores were terrible, I hurry up so fat that I forget half of the things I would go in for and would have to send my wife back out because I couldn’t handle the anxiety. I also began missing important thing like my daughter’s soccer games and the games I did go; I was a nervous wreck when I got home.

I explained all of this one day to my other dog’s groomer and she suggested 1Boy4Change. I asked what they did and she answered with, “They help by providing those in need a service dog that is or will be trained to aid you.” Now I had heard of other disabled Veterans getting service dogs and how they changed their life and figured, I had nothing else to lose and gave Chris, 1Boy4Change a Facebook a message. Within that very day I received a group invite and message asking me a series of basic questions. Type of dog I am looking for, short or long fur, etc... I answered them all and before I knew it I was paired up to a white German shep, soon to be in training. This wasn’t to be, because the owner sold the dog, which Chris begged forgiveness for, I am an understanding person and reassured him that everything was fine, but the very same day he had another dog for me and on top of that it was already trained for PTSD.

The next week I drove down and picked up my SD and received some basic training on how to handle the dog. I would of stayed longer, but my anxiety was fried and I was having a lot of attacks, none there, save upon entering their home. I also had a long trip to make back home to do as well. When I got home, things started out fine, but quick became a problem. There seem to be issues that my SD had that were causing problems with me. This was taken care of quickly when my SD had to go back for retraining or Boot Camp as it is called and I can’t wait to get her back her in early May.

Chris is a wonderful young man and has done a lot of good in this cruel world. Even the short time I had my SD, it changed me for the better. He handles things professionally and is willing to help in any aspect that he can. I hope this young man has many years of happiness and is able to help many more people in need.

George Christian

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

Dealing with multiple debilitating illnesses makes life extremely difficult for my 13 yr old daughter. Her greatest wish over the past few years was to have her very own service dog -- in order to make her life more livable. After being turned down a few times by different organizations, and then not knowing how on earth I'd be able to fulfill her dream of getting a service dog all on our own, along came 1Boy4Change. During one of the happiest moments of her life thus far -- my daughter found out she was accepted to receive her own service dog from this organization. Not only does the name 1Boy4Change stand for what Chris wants to accomplish -- it stands for what HE IS ACCOMPLISHING.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

I stumbled across this organization after looking and researching seizure alert dogs for over a year. We were unsure of the "need" for one for our son. I spoke with Janet on the phone and she was so kind and compassionate and added us right to the list. Chris has done an amazing job finding resources and helping out so many people. They have not only created and organization, but a family. The support they give is outstanding and I am proud to be a part of it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

Having two Autistic daughters is not easy. Quite challenging, actually. 1boy4change honored my daughters' wish for a service dog, and I have seen remarkable change in their behavior and communications. They are so wonderful & have made us part of the "1boy4change" family, which to me, has become quite a support system. Blogging with other families has helped me cope and also has given me the opportunity to make new friends as well. The most rewarding part of being part of this "family", is seeing my daughters and their dog interact. Just warms my heart!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Service dog walker!