Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I have come to know of Chris when I come across Chris and his SD Bronx as nominees in The Hero Dog Awards. The generosity, compassion and true caring exhibited by this amazing young man, despite his own health issues, left an impression upon me that makes me sit back in awe of his continuing dedication to make a difference to the lives of others. His foundation, 1Boy4Change, Inc. is based on Chris' ethos.....making a change to better the lives of others. He works tirelessly and with true and genuine dedication to the causes he sets his mind to. He is an outstanding example of setting goals and working with everything that he has to achieve a positive outcome. He is a truly inspirational young man who has had a wonderful and positive effect on the lives of so many so far and looks at continuing that positive effect on the lives of many others in the future....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Drawing recognition to the Organization....

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

Chris Carswell has been an inspiration to me for many years now. I am so proud of the many goals he has reached to make the lives of others better. When Chris sets his sites on helping others, there simply is no mountain this young man cannot move to make miracles happen.
It's such an honor
to have Chris, his family, friends, foundation, and SUPER hero SD Bronx in my life. The world is a better place because Chris shares his passion for helping others with all of us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Network more to help Chris have more options and funds available to him to continue with his missions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

I met Chris, his mom, and his service dog last year at a charity event. Chris is a stellar example of doing kind deeds for others and paying it forward. I am excited to witness his journey into adulthood and see all he has yet to accomplish!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

I recently met Chris Carswell in person after having worked with his foundation for about a year. I run a foundation that provides grants to the disabled in our community who need service dogs. Chris and his foundation reviewed our grantee's application and selected a specific dog to be trained for her.

Chris provided the early training for this dog, before was moved on to get his advanced training in Tennessee. All through this process, Chris and his foundation provided the communication, reassurance and information we needed to prepare our client for their new dog.

The end result of this labor of love on Chris' part is the most amazing partnership between a highly trained service dog, and a 7 year old girl with severe disabilities.

I credit Christopher for his dedication to this work, and for his work helping Police K-9 units across the country. What an amazing young man, to have had this idea at such a young age, and to spend his teen years serving others.

He is truly a remarkable young man. His foundation is well-run, and clearly he goes out of his way to make sure that the projects he supports are successful. He, his mother and the trainer from Tennessee gave up an entire week of their summer to come to our community and train our client with their new service dog. I don't know of another organization in this area of service that does this for their clients. I know that hundreds of hours of training were donated toward the preparation of this wonderful dog.

We had a million questions. Every single one of them was answered politely and with patience, understanding that this was all new to us. Chris's team is highly skilled and highly qualified to be doing this work, and I consider them experts in the field.

Chris knows firsthand the difference that a trained service dog can make in a person's life, and he appears to be truly dedicated to making it possible for others to have the same benefit.

Wonderful young man, and a great example of what a great non-profit should be!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Double their funding so they can help even more people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

My first encounter with 1B4C was on FB. Of course I'm cautious of postings on FB, so I started researching this 'boy' and his program. At the time he was in a contest with his service dog for the Humane Societies Hero Dog of the Year Award. I was struck with how much one young man can accomplish. I have worked in Boy Scouting in past years and know what young boys are capable of in search of their Eagle Award so Chris' determination was not new to me. What I find commendable is his dedication especially with his medical issues. I recently put together a quilt for Chris with the names of over 400 people whose lives Chris has touched in someway. I am proud to call this young man and his family my friends and to share the love with them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

Chris Carswell and his organization are amazing. Even though he has personal issues he never stops; he & his organization never stop he would truly give you the shirt off his back. His caring,sharing,giving has touched alot of people & still is. If anyone deserves this he does

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

I met Chris and SD Bronx when they took the time out of their day visiting Miss Sue at Golden Isles Hospice to visit my husband who did not have many days left. My husband, Wilfried Stein, could no longer talk; however, I saw the light in his eyes when I told him a real Deutsche Shepard was coming in to see him. Wilfried was from Austria and SD Bronx got in the bed with him. Wilfried was delighted and swished SD Bronx's tail back and forth. My most known words in Deutsche are commands for dogs from listening to Wilfried speak to our dogs in Deutsche. Chris took the time to pose with Wilfried and SD Bronx. Chris is a selfless young man who puts his needs last and cares for others first!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I just heard about this organization and do not know a lot but I feel like I know Chris.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

I heard of and about Chris through a mutual friend (Peg H.). In June 2013, slightly before midnight, I received a phone call from Peg. Against Pegs suggestion, I accepted and acknowledged that I would submit an application to 1B4C to become a Volunteer Trainer, and did so that moment. To my surprise, I was accepted as an Evaluator/Trainer. I can tell you countless experiences witnessed, but that would violate the privacy of the "family" members 1B4C extends its heart to. But, you can look at any photo from any delivery and its evident....intimate...compassion...pride...family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Call Obama and demand $1mil to purchase a delivery vehicle and purchase property to build the ultimate 20 run service dog training facility to allow 1B4C to continue its journey.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

After learning about 1Boy4Change over a year ago, I've watched this organization continuously increase their outreach program for those needing service dogs. It's an incredibly difficult task to provide resources for service dogs and matching them with the right recipients. A tireless group, even faced with obstacles. Nothing is slowing them down from helping others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes, I just wish more of the public knew about them so they could get the support needed to expand.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

1boy4change is an amazing organization. Chris Carswell is the most giving person I have ever met. He has many challenges of his own, but is always looking to help someone else.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Service dog walker!