Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

In Our Hands Rescue

Rating: 3.53 stars   19 reviews 1,474

Address:

2419 E Tremont Ave MAILING ADDRESS ONLY (NOT A SHELTER) Bronx NY 10461 USA

Mission:

Write a Review
Donate
Invite Reviews Share This Nonprofit

More Info

www.inourhandsrescue.org

Promote This Nonprofit

GreatNonprofits badges allow you to raise awareness of your favorite nonprofits on your own web sites!

Review this charity on
GreatNonprofits

Reviews for In Our Hands Rescue

Rating: 5 stars   Featured Review

1 person found this review helpful

Thank you for the wonderful rescue dogs that you transported from Missouri and were adopted by us in New York. Each dog was accurately described, well cared for in their journey and absolutely saved from GAS KILL shelters. Without your organization, these dogs would not have had a chance. Two were very elderly, although full of life, and were saved from death row. We will always be grateful to you Jennifer, for your time, selfless caring and genuine wish to save dogs and cats. God Bless You!
Dr. Mary Rose Paster

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

 
Flag review
Rating: 2 stars  

I am currently fostering a dog from In Our Hands. First of all, the dog was described to me as a "lab mix" when she is clearly a pit bull mix, but that's fine as she is wonderful and well-natured. When I first came to the event to meet the dog and take her home, they basically just handed her to me and told me good bye. All I got sent with was the dog and her leash. They never checked ID or verified that I had submitted the online application. As this is my first time fostering, I had many questions about her vaccination history, what the next steps were to get her adopted, etc. I was given a quick answer of 'up-to-date' on vaccinations and to check the website for future adoption events. When I asked if I could have a copy of her vaccination records I was told "no" because this was a privilege only of the adopter. I have had this dog for nearly a month in my home, around my family, and around other neighborhood dogs and it makes me very nervous that I can't even see her vaccination records. The dog was also spayed while I was fostering her and again, I was given one choice of date to have this done and basically no information. Luckily everything is going alright so far. The actual dog is absolutely wonderful and while I respect what this organization is trying to do by saving these animals, they really need to get the business side of their effort in order. All dogs vaccination records need to be up-to-date and accessible. And any foster/adoption families should be checked out first. I'm thankful to them for saving these animals but also very worried about the lack of care they are taking with fostering/adopting them out.

 
Flag review
Rating: 4 stars  

2 people found this review helpful

I went to meet a Pomeranian and was second approved to adopt. They advised to show up anyway at their event saying that sometimes approved potential adopters don't show. When I showed the Pomeranian had already been taken -- they encouraged me to look at the other small dogs but I wasn't interested in these other small breeds. BUT. Then there was an incredibly beautiful elegant dog that totally blindsided me. My husband came to meet us -- and like me he immediately fell in love with her too. They say that dogs choose their owners, you can't tell from a picture of a certain dog - what's it's going to be like in real life, because a picture isn't real life. I had an expectation of getting a small dog, I went in there to pick up a Pomeranian and I came out with a Blue Heeler!! LOL. And I don't regret my decision for one second. We have the best ever in every single way, so for this I am grateful to IOHR. However, I also agree with the reason given for the lower ratings here because: they knew nothing about the dog and they also lied about her age saying she was nearly a year when she was actually only 7 months. Even when I emailed after and said the paperwork said she was 7 months Rachael said she was sure she was beset a year (I'd said I wanted a dog around a year or older) so I believe they will tell you what you want to hear in order to get the dogs adopted. Also, it felt like they made up the price on the spot -- we were planning on spending $200 max and she was just over $500.00. Which is INSANE for a rescue -- I understand this is not tax deductible when other charitable dog adoption organizations fees are --- so I don't know what to make if this. My phone had died though and they let me use their phone to call and talk to the recent foster mother so that was amazing. She'd only had her for a week though, and as these dogs had travelled from the South they must have known our dog was one that gets very car sick -- but this information was not provided and we discovered it after. In a cab. But, to my shame I got out and didn't tell the cab driver. Noones perfect.

 
Flag review
Review from Guidestar
Rating: 1 stars  

8 people found this review helpful

This organization needs to be stopped. She is all about money. The lies she tells to get animals adopted is unfair to the dog and unfair to the unsuspecting family or person. No complete check of the dog. My dog was placed for adoption with her. I warned her that the dog wasn't house broke, had bad nerves, didn't handle small kids or dogs well. Could be dangerous to them. The dog would also go after cats. Would destroy the house if left alone. I rescued her and sadly couldn't afford the expense of proper training. With food aggression starting I knew it was time to do something or the poor dog would be miserable. When this organization took they advertised her as this problem free sweet house broken puppy. The complete opposite in fact she's a little over a year old. Don't use these people. The ASPCA doesn't even charge $400/500 for a dog. At the most $125 and it will be completely checked over

 
Flag review

Hi there - Would you mind reaching out to us and letting us know which dog you are talking about? You can email us at inourhandsrescue@gmail.com. In all honesty, we never would have agreed to take a place a dog who had all of those issues. We are very realistic about who we can place, and while we take as many hard cases as we can handle, this sounds like a dog we would not have been able to handle. We are also very upfront with our adopters about any potential behavioral (or medical) issues, because we do take our dogs back if adoptions don't work out, and we don't want them just bouncing back and forth. We want them to be set up for success, and that only comes with honesty. I'm just curious if you might be thinking of the wrong group. Please reach out, I would like to hear from you. Rachael Rescue Coordinator

Rating: 1 stars  

8 people found this review helpful

Do not adopt from these people. Jennifer is a liar and will say anything to get a dog adopted. I asked for a beagle mix no more than 30 pounds and ended up with an 85 pound hound mix,. Despite paying 400 dollars the dog was very sick, not microchipped or neutered and had not been vetted in foster care. More importantly she let me walk away with the puppy at 7 weeks knowing nothing av
Bout me. No home visit, no references. I have spent thousands of dollars bringing this dog back to health and training a huge dog to live in Manhattan.
This organization needs to be shut down!!! There are so many good, honest rescue groups and In Our Hands are just a bunch of lying, fanatics hellbent on getting dogs out of kill shelters but into God knows where as an alternative

 
Flag review

Hi Berthamd, Thank you for your review. I would like to point out that in rescue, we never know breeds for sure. If you would like to have a "beagle mix no more than 30 pounds," then you need to go to a breeder. If you want to rescue an animal, you understand that there is some push and pull and you need to leave wiggle room. We very clearly state in our contract that we do not guarantee breed or size. If you are unhappy with your pup, we do take our dogs back as we like to ensure that they are always placed into good homes. I don't appreciate the lies you are spreading - we reference check EVERY application that comes in. We deny something like 2-3 applications for each one we accept. We are very careful about where the dogs go. I would be happy to have a conversation with you anytime and prove to you that I am not a lying fanatic. Rescue is a very hard world to work in, and I wish you would consider just how hard it is for us before you write review like this that are only going to hurt the animals in the end. Rachael Rescue Coordinator

1 previous review
Rating: 1 stars  

8 people found this review helpful

My story is similar to the others. I had just put my 16 year old pug to sleep and went to a Petco adoption event where In Our Hands Rescue had a litter of puppies and some baby pits. Again, I had emailed Jennifer the day before to see what dogs she was bringing. When I got there, grief-struck and irrational from having had to put my dog to sleep 5 days prior, I expressed concern about adopting so soon. I also asked why there was no home visit or references taken. I was told"You wrote you're a doctor so you must be OK."
I could have been using dogs for vivesection for all Jennifer cared. I paid 400 dollars and was told the 7 week puppy was a beagle-lab mix, no more than 30-40lbs as they had seen the mother.He is currently 10 months old and 70 pounds and a German shepherd-coonhound mix
I was told he had his first set of shots and was dewormed. No sooner had I gotten him home he started scratching furiously and had horrible diarrhea. Long story short-2000 dollars later he was diagnosed hookworm, giardia, scabies which went undiagnosed by two vets and then severe behaviour issues. He bit me very badly repeatedly and when I called her she said I could return him but no refund, no other dog. I had to pay for microchip, neutering, animal behaviourists, etc. Puck is a wonderful dog now because he hit the Jackpot. I could afford to hire people for him, pay huge vet bills. DO NOT ADOPT FROM THESE PEOPLE!She does not check the dogs out and as someone wrote she is the equivalent of a puppy mill rescuer. She took advantage of my grief and unstable condition, lied to me about how "easy" raising a puppy would be and basically was unscrupulous and unethical. With so many reputable rescue groups around, this one needs to be closed. I assumed that Petco had vetted her which is why I even adopted from her.Shame on Petco and shame on you Jennifer! She should be shut down and I am filing a complaint with the city.

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut it down

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

 
Flag review

Readers please note that this review is from a woman who adopted in February. We have made many changes to our organization since then, including never adopting an animal out without a reference check or multiple checks. We do vet our animals thoroughly, although if they come from the south as many of our animals do, sometimes they have other issues that arise after they are adopted (particularly if they are adopted right away as this 7 week old must have been), and we always tell people that health is not guaranteed because there is just no way to know of other issues that might come up. In terms of the breed, again we always tell adopters that the breed is a guess, unless we knew the mother. The puppies we adopt out are usually puppies that were abandoned down south, and we know very little about their history (they do see a vet and are given all of the medical treatment they need and all of the shots they can have for their ages). If anyone is concerned about our ethics, please feel free to contact us through our website - www.inourhandsrescue.org. We welcome your thoughts and suggestions, and are more than happy to answer any questions you might have about the adoption process.

Readers please note that this review is from a woman who adopted in February. We have made many changes to our organization since then, including never adopting an animal out without a reference check or multiple checks. We do vet our animals thoroughly, although if they come from the south as many of our animals do, sometimes they have other issues that arise after they are adopted (particularly if they are adopted right away as this 7 week old must have been), and we always tell people that health is not guaranteed because there is just no way to know of other issues that might come up. In terms of the breed, again we always tell adopters that the breed is a guess, unless we knew the mother. The puppies we adopt out are usually puppies that were abandoned down south, and we know very little about their history (they do see a vet and are given all of the medical treatment they need and all of the shots they can have for their ages). If anyone is concerned about our ethics, please feel free to contact us through our website - www.inourhandsrescue.org. We welcome your thoughts and suggestions, and are more than happy to answer any questions you might have about the adoption process.

Rating: 5 stars  

2 people found this review helpful

We've been looking to adopt a dog for months. When considering adopting from a few other New York shelters, we had negative experiences--including out of date available pets pages and poor, slow communication.

Not so with In Our Hands! They immediately reviewed our application, and once approved, we were able to meet and adopt our desired dog within a day! Our vet says that our new pup is one of the most healthy ones he's seen, which he credited to the great care his foster family must have given him through In Our Hands.

I recommend them to anyone who wants to adopt a new furry family member! We love In Our Hands!

 
Flag review
Rating: 5 stars  

1 person found this review helpful

We adopted a puppy a month ago from In Our Hands Rescue. Having rescued dogs before (young and old), the application and approval process was quick and went seemlessly. The puppy was 6 weeks old and had been rescued by IOHR from a high kill shelter in
Georgia with her 6 siblings and mother.
I commend then for saving these animals, especially at great distances from NY. It takes a lot of dedication and organization to do this as well as have foster families, and adoption sites lined up to take them when they arrive.
As with any shelter rescue, there may be common issues such as kennel cough, parasites, etc. and as a responsible pet owner, you should visit a vet when you get them, to get them off to a healthy start. All these things are very easy to treat.
IOHR was quick to respond to emails and kindly sent us photos of our puppy's mom so we could get a better sense of what she looked like.
We are grateful that organizations such as theirs exist! And IOHR seems to have a knack at saving sweet dogs from terrible situations. All of the adult dogs had amazing personalities, and the puppies of course irresistible.

 
Flag review
Rating: 5 stars  

2 people found this review helpful

This rescue does AMAZING work!!! I have adopted from them and can say they were professional, fair in their assessment and description of the dog I adopted (who is awesome now, but as the rescue communicated, had likely been abused so needed some understanding at first)!

I'm amazed at some of the negative reviews, people don't seem to understand that when rescuing a dog, the dog rescue organization isn't a breeder who can "pick and breed desirable traits". They take as many dogs as they can, many of whom have been abused and neglected. When taking on a pet, particularly a rescue, you are making a commitment, and should be prepared to honor that. AND if things don't work out this rescue will ALWAYS take the animal back. It's a living creature, not a sweater, you don't get to return it AND get your money back if you decide it's no longer convenient for you.

 
Flag review
profile
Role: General Member of the Public
Rating: 5 stars  

1 person found this review helpful

My husband & I adopted our precous Sadie Mae from IOHR this past August - and it was a wonderful experience.
Our application was processed quickly, our references & vet contacted and we were approved for adoption.
Everyone who we were in contact during the process, Jennifer, Rachel & the foster mom Molly were all professional, and extremely helpful and accommodating.
We had originally planned to go into the city to an adoption fair on a Saturday & meet Sadie - but at the last minute, we decided to go in on Friday evening. We contacted Molly & arranged to meet her at her apartment to meet Sadie - it was love at first sight!
Sadie came to us healthy and with full medical records.
I would strongly recommend IOHR to anyone looking to adopt - you won't regreat it for a second.

 
Flag review
Rating: 5 stars  

1 person found this review helpful

I've had dogs all my life, from breeders & the streets & you never know what you're getting either way. No one can ever guarantee any animals health or temperament. But at IOHR the entire team is committed to matching the correct animal with the correct keeper. Thank you IOHR! We love our new baby! My husband and I adopted a 2 year old chiweenie from IOHR and the entire experience has been amazing. It started over the weekend at a mobile adoption event where we met the volunteers and fosters. I admire and thank all people who foster and open their homes and hearts to animals so they can properly be matched with their forever families. Foster parent Steven was informative and advised us of habits, schedule, temperament, and personality of our new girl, and she fits into our life and pack perfectly. She loves her sister Daisy (dog) and brother Beast (cat). We're so happy with the experience and look forward to all being together forever. I recommend everyone open their homes & hearts and rescue an animal from IOHR!!

 
Flag review