Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Animal Protection & Welfare, Animals

Mission: Established as animal first responders at Katrina, our mission is to provide no-kill shelter and medical treatment to the homeless cats and dogs of the street and the storms. We intake the too young, too old, injured and/or sick that could not survive otherwise. We promote spay/neuter of all companion animals and promote no-kill options within our region.

Results: Over 7400 healthy companion cats and dogs placed in loving, pre-screened homes. We successfully fundraise to keep our no-kill shelter running and financially healthy.

Programs: • Pet Retention Program to help low income persons retain and maintain their pets • Feral Dog Rehab Program • Foster Program • Hospice Foster Program providing senior pets and/or pets with manageable and treatable diseases a loving home without the worry of veterinary costs that are paid for by our org.; • Volunteer Program • Trapping Program for feral cats to TNR (trap, neuter, return), at no cost to public

Community Stories

22 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

1 Lori160

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

ARNO is amazing. They help so many animals with such limited resources. They are the only no kill shelter in the area. Their dedicated volunteers work miracles. Best place to donate to to really help the animals!

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Very organized and caring group of volunteers!
Rely only on donations and do amazing things.

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

Such a great organization that does great work! It's the only and last hope for some pets.

1

Client Served

Rating: 1

I have donated annually to the SPCA since 2000. I noticed that this was a no kill shelter and thought I would do some research. In doing my research, I came across a beautiful cat that I wanted to adopt. I filled out the application and the person reviewing the application said that I was denied because they could not locate records to the animals that I recently inherited this year (May and August) due to loss of my mother AND my brother. I have no idea where these records would be, but I have taken responsibility for their animals and given them a loving home. I wanted to adopt a cat and had to call back to find out the status because nobody called me. The woman I contacted was incredibly rude telling me that they sent me an email because she was copied on it. I asked what it said and she didn't want to tell me. I asked if she could resend it or tell me about it since I was supposed to have received it anyway. She then told me that I was denied. I asked why and she told me that she was at work and would not discuss it. So I asked her to call me back when she had a chance when she was not at work. She said ok, and about a month later, I'm still waiting on my phone call... I'm not holding my breath on that. Her name was Cathy...

(Ginny in the shelter was very kind and seemed to genuinely love animals and treated people kindly as well. She was the only person that wasn't unpleasant in my experience. )

It breaks my heart to see animals sharing a cage with other animals for MONTHS and this organization begging for money to fund their building and care for these animals when they won't allow these pets to go into a loving home and won't take the time to understand each individual case before deciding whether it not someone is worthy of a pet.

I do not recommend doing business with this organization because my application for a pet was handled poorly. The employee/volunteer that I spoke with was very disrespectful and condescending. She had also never heard of pet armor (same active ingredient as frontline), and she said that I needed records of using frontline on the pets that I inherited. Frontline and pet armor are two over the counter treatments that I would have to keep receipts for in order to adopt a pet... Ridiculous!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

table25 12/27/2013

I am so sorry you had a bad experience with anyone at ARNO. It is unfortunate when we have to turn down people who are applying for a pet, and I think that is where the hesitation came from on our part. No one likes to tell anyone bad news. I assure you you were not turned down because of flea medicine. We require a recommendation from a vet if you have pets of any kind. Also, unlike other shelters, we are volunteers so we all have jobs, whether during the day or night, and most cannot take calls when at work. Again, we are sorry you had a bad experience, and hope you went ahead and adopted a cat from another shelter. They all need a home. Charlotte ARNO

Donor

Rating: 5

I became aware of ARNO when I adopted a dog from this organization. ARNO is an all volunteer no kill facility. I donate dog food on a regular basis. Every time I arrive, there are volunteers taking the dogs for walks, others cleaning out the cages. Every time I go to a festival, ARNO volunteers are out there with pets to adopt. I am constantly amazed at the dedication these people have on an ongoing basis to care for the animals at the shelter.

Krissy F.

Donor

Rating: 5

This is one of the few organizations I truly believe in. I have seen the wonderful work they've done and love and compassion they have for all animals is above and beyond . When I donate I truly feel my money is doing good . If a animal falls into arnos hands consider them lucky ,they will do there absolute best to care for them and to find them loving forever homes.

Mary240

General Member of the Public

Rating: 2

When trying to find a lost cat .. I stopped in with hopes of looking for him and was told to leave flyer, but I couldn't go in to look at cats. The person I spoke with was less than friendly. Another person I know also had a bad experience with a less than friendly comment that was made to them when they were also searching for a lost pet. And even another when they were trying to find a place for a lost dog they had found.

Comments ( 2 )

profile

table25 12/23/2013

Mary, we are so sorry you had a bad experience with one of our volunteers. All I can think of is you possibly came during animal care, which is daunting when we are low on volunteers. That's part of the reason our public hours are from 3pm to 7pm. I am sure you weren't the first person who came that day... sometimes there is a line outside of ARNO when we open up at 9am... it is depressing to not be able to help every single person or pet. And I know it can get the volunteers bummed and not in the best of moods. If cat care going on, there is not much room while the volunteers clean the kennels, remove and change litter boxes, put fresh hammocks in, etc. So possibly that is why you were not let in to see the cats. But we all know when there is a new occupant, and we always put found pets on our facebook pages as well. Again, sorry for you not being greeted and treated properly. Charlotte/ARNO

profile

table25 12/23/2013

Mary, we are so sorry you had a bad experience with one of our volunteers. All I can think of is you possibly came during animal care, which is daunting when we are low on volunteers. That's part of the reason our public hours are from 3pm to 7pm. I am sure you weren't the first person who came that day... sometimes there is a line outside of ARNO when we open up at 9am... it is depressing to not be able to help every single person or pet. And I know it can get the volunteers bummed and not in the best of moods. If cat care going on, there is not much room while the volunteers clean the kennels, remove and change litter boxes, put fresh hammocks in, etc. So possibly that is why you were not let in to see the cats. But we all know when there is a new occupant, and we always put found pets on our facebook pages as well. Again, sorry for you not being greeted and treated properly. Charlotte/ARNO

Volunteer

Rating: 5

ARNO is the only organization I would help. They do so much with so little and thier dogs and cats are their first priority. A fantastic group that works so hard to save so many.

Alexandra8

General Member of the Public

Rating: 5

I live in San Diego and read every day about ARNO and the wonderful group of volunteers. Sometimes I don't know how they get through the day with what they encounter. I have fierce respect for everyone involved. I share each story I receive on FB and when I'm not so broke I'll be able to donate. Thanks for everything you do to help these poor creatures.

Frank33

Client Served

Rating: 5

Our ARNO experience was beyond all expectations. Thanks to ARNO our Pokie has a loving home and a new best friend. The folks at ARNO are professional.